Apply Now MSA Visit

Faculty and Staff

Contact the Division of Music

Division of Music
Meadows School of the Arts
Southern Methodist University
6101 Bishop Blvd.
Dallas, Texas 75275-0356

The Division of Music's faculty and staff members are nationally and internationally recognized for their accomplishments as performers, composers, scholars and educators.

Search By Instrument

Professors Emeriti

Charles T. Eagle, Professor Emeritus of Music Therapy

Kenneth Hart, Professor Emeritus of Sacred Music, D.M.A., Cincinnati

Michael Hawn, University Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Church Music, M.C.M. and D.M.A. Southern Baptist Theological Seminary 214.768.2348

Robert Krout, Professor Emeritus of Music Therapy, M.A., M.Ed., Ed.M., Columbia University

James A. Ode, Professor Emeritus of Music Education, D.M.A., Performer’s Certificate, Eastman School of Music

Larry Palmer, Professor Emeritus of Organ/Harpsichord, A.Mus.D., Eastman School of Music

Simon Sargon, Professor Emeritus of Composition, M.S., Juilliard School of Music

Martin Sweidel, Professor Emeritus of Music, D.M.A. University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

Areas of Study



Art History

Arts Management and Arts Entrepreneurship

Corporate Communication and Public Affairs

Creative Computation


Film and Media Arts



Featured Alumni

About the Division of Music

Undergraduate Studies

Graduate Studies

Classes (See Catalog)




Faculty and Staff

By Instrument/Discipline

Faculty Travel Request Form

Visiting Artist Request Form

Student Resources

Student Internships & Collaborations

Meadows Artist Bridge

Dallas Resources

Peak Fellowship Ensemble-in-Residence

SMU Meadows Licensed Music Rights

Workshops and Special Programs

Opportunities for Non-Music Majors