A Midsummer Night's Dream, Fall 2021

The Division of Theatre awards graduate and undergraduate degrees in a nationally recognized training program. Graduate students receive M.F.A. degrees in Acting or Design, while undergraduates complete a B.F.A. degree in either Acting or Theatre Studies. Classes and studios combined with participation in a robust production season prepare our graduates to move successfully into the performance industry. During their time at SMU, graduate and undergraduate students often work at Dallas area theatres as well as for top regional companies.

Undergraduate Majors/Minors
Graduate Majors/Minors

Meet Our Faculty

Blake Hackler Blake Hackler

Blake Hackler

Chair, Division of Theatre, Head of Acting Professor

Dawn Askew Dawn Askew

Dawn Askew

Production Manager, Adjunct Instructor

Reiko Aylesworth Reiko Aylesworth

Reiko Aylesworth

Professor of Practice

Tiana Kaye Blair Tiana Kaye Blair

Tiana Kaye Blair

Professor of Practice, Acting and Movement

Amanda Capshaw AmandaCapshawDec2019

Amanda Capshaw

Adjunct Instructor

Robert Clare Clare-Rob-May-2023

Robert Clare

Visiting Professor

Kristi Dana Dana-Kristi-June-2023

Kristi Dana

Assistant Professor

Joel Ferrell Joel Ferrell

Joel Ferrell

Professor of Practice in Theatre and Inaugural Director of the Sexton Institute for Musical Theatre

Carter Gill GillCarterAugust2022

Carter Gill

Adjunct Instructor

Kevin Paul Hofeditz, M.F.A., AEA HofeditzKevinAugust2022

Kevin Paul Hofeditz, M.F.A., AEA

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor of Theatre

Bobbie Lay

Bobbie Lay

Coordinator, Finance and Enrollment

Steve Leary

Steve Leary

Assistant Technical Director, Adjunct Instructor

Cole McCarty Cole McCarty

Cole McCarty

Professor of Practice Costume Design

Justin Mosher Justin Mosher

Justin Mosher

Technical Director, Adjunct Instructor

Melissa Panzarello Cox MelissaPanzarello

Melissa Panzarello Cox

Costume Shop Manager, Adjunct Instructor

Steven Piechocki Steven Piechocki

Steven Piechocki

Stage Lighting Supervisor; Adjunct Instructor

Anne Schilling Anne Schilling

Anne Schilling

Associate Professor

Gretchen E. Smith SmithGretchenAugust2022

Gretchen E. Smith

Associate Dean for Students and Head of Theatre Studies

Stanley Wojewodski, Jr. StanleyWojewodski

Stanley Wojewodski, Jr.

Distinguished Professor of Theatre

Steve Woods Steve Woods

Steve Woods

Professor, Head of Design

Linda Blase

Linda Blase

Adjunct Instructor

Kathy Windrow

Kathy Windrow

Adjunct Instructor


Margo Jones Theatre

The Margo Jones Theatre is a 125-seat black box, with seating divided among four platforms that allow directors and designers to choose between multiple configurations. Each spring, the theatre is host for the New Visions, New Voices festival, providing student writers and directors with a flexible and intimate setting where they can workshop and perform new plays.

Featured Story

Regina Taylor

Actor, Playwright, Director and Activist

Alumna Regina Taylor (Theatre ’81) partners with SMU Meadows and the Division of Theatre on a yearlong initiative, the black album.

Read More

Student Work


Camilla Frontain
Juliet - 2nd Year Character Workshop
Part of Camilla’s 2nd year Character Workshop, an exploration of Juliet from Romeo and Juliet


Rhett Goldman BFA ‘24 and Caleb Mosley BFA ’24
Through My Mind
A Short Film written, directed shot and performed by some of our BFA Actors


Shahrzad Mazaheri MFA ’23, Courtney Amaro MFA ’23, Ariel Kregal MFA ’23
Costumes, Lights and Set by MFA Design Students for SMU’s Fall production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream directed by faculty member Kara Lynn Vaeni.

Theatre News

Upcoming Theatre Events