People

Department of English Directory.

Stephanie amstel

Stephanie Amsel

Director, Writing and Reasoning Program

samsel@smu.edu

Richard Bozorth

Richard Bozorth

Department Chair
Associate Professor

rbozorth@smu.edu

Gregg Brownderville

Greg Brownderville

Associate Professor of English,
Editor-in-Chief of the Southwest Review

gbrowndervil@smu.edu

David Caplan

David Caplan

Professor
Daisy Deane Frensley Chair in English Literature

dcaplan@smu.edu

Tim Cassedy

Tim Cassedy

Associate Professor

tcassedy@smu.edu

Carol Dickson Carr portrait

Carol Dickson-Carr

Professor of Practice

dicksonc@smu.edu

Dickson Carr

Darryl Dickson-Carr

Professor
Interim Director of Graduate Studies

dcarr@smu.edu

Dallas Hall logo

Afsheen Farhadi

Visiting Writer-in-Residence & Hughes Fellow in Creative Writing

akfarhadi@smu.edu

logo

Rhonda Garelick

Professor
Duwain E. Hughes, Jr. Distinguished Chair for English

rgarelick@smu.edu

Gonzalez Photo

Christopher González

Professor
Jacob and Frances Sanger Mossiker Endowed Chair in the Department of English

ctgonzalez@smu.edu

Ezra Greenspan portrait

Ezra Greenspan

Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Chair in Humanities

egreensp@smu.edu

Katie Condon portrait

Katie Condon

Assistant Professor

kmhermes@smu.edu

Marta Krogh

Marta Krogh

Director, Hilltop Scholars Program
Lecturer, WRTR

mkrogh@smu.edu

Samyak Picture

Samyak Shertok

Visiting Writer-in-Residence & Hughes Fellow in Creative Writing

slama@smu.edu

Dallas Hall icon

Bruce Levy

Senior Lecturer
Graduate Instructor Supervisor

blevy@smu.edu

Dan Moss

Dan Moss

Associate Professor

dmoss@smu.edu

Beth Newman portrait

Beth Newman

Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies

bnewman@smu.edu

Samantha Pergadia

Samantha Pergadia

Assistant Professor

spergadia@smu.edu

Jacob rubin

Jacob Rubin

Assistant Professor
Director of Creative Writing

jarubin@smu.edu

Martha Satz

Martha Satz

Assistant Professor

msatz@smu.edu

Dallas Hall icon

Ona Barry Seaney

Senior Lecturer
Co-Editor, Criteria

oseaney@smu.edu

Sanderia Smith portrait

Sanderia Smith

Assistant Professor of Practice

sfsmith@smu.edu

Loriann Stephens portrait

Lori Ann Stephens

Lecturer
Graduate Instructor Supervisor

loris@smu.edu

Bonnie wheeler portrait

Bonnie Wheeler

Associate Professor
Director of Medieval Studies

bwheeler@smu.edu

Dallas Hall icon

Emma Wilson

Assistant Professor

eawilson@smu.edu

Dallas Hall Icon

Steve Daniels

Professor

Foster

Dennis Foster

Professor, Daisy Dean Frensley Chair in English Literature

Dallas Hall Icon

David Haynes

Professor

Dallas Hall Icon

Michael Holahan

Associate Professor

Dallas Hall Icon

John Lewis

Professor

Ross Murfin

Ross Murfin

E.A. Lilly Distinguished Professor of English

Jasper Neel

Jasper Neel

Professor

Nina Schwartz

Nina Schwartz

Associate Professor

Dallas Hall Icon

Charlie Smith

Professor

Willard Spiegelman

Willard Spiegelman

Professor

Steven Weisenburger

Steven Weisenburger

Mossiker Chair in Humanities and Professor

Name Title Phone Email Office Location
Matthew Biggin Academic Program Assistant 214-768-2945
mbiggin[@]smu.edu Dallas Hall, Suite 5
Mary Felipe Assistant to the Department Chair 214-768-2946 mfelipe[@]smu.edu Dallas Hall, Suite 5
Teresa Janicki Administrative Assistant,Writing and Reasoning 214-768-1406
tjanicki[@]smu.edu Clements 108B