Division of Enrollment Services (DES) Offices

The Division consists of six service areas: Financial Aid, Registrar, Bursar, Transfer and Transition Services, Summer Studies, and Undergraduate Admission. Key functions associated with each service area include:

Financial Aid

  • counsel students and parents on the financial aid process and programs (federal, state, SMU)
  • determine financial aid eligibility by considering factors such as documented financial need and state residency
  • award financial aid in accordance with program requirements


  • oversee and facilitate the process of enrollment into classes
  • monitor credits regarding graduation requirements
  • prepare and send grade transcripts
  • certify enrollment status


  • assist students with account inquiries
  • counsel students and parents on payment options
  • send invoices
  • apply payments to accounts
  • manage Perkins and institutional loans

Transfer and Transition Services

  • assists Admission Office in the recruitment of transfer students
  • maintains equivalency guides to assist transfer student planning a move to SMU
  • facilitates the transition of new transfer students to SMU
  • acts as advocate for transfer students from the time they enter SMU until their graduations
  • provides ongoing programming for transfer students on campus
  • interacts with other colleges and universities to create and maintain articulation agreements

Undergraduate Admission

  • serve as primary contact for prospective students
  • process and evaluate undergraduate admission applications
  • determine admissibility and eligibility for SMU scholarships