The Center for Teaching Excellence

Fall Teaching Awards Banner

Each year, we have the distinct honor to recognize deserving faculty across campus with teaching awards. For the 2019-2020 year, we are selecting faculty for two awards, The Golden Mustang Award and The Provost's Teaching Recognition Award. 


Each award carries a $1,000 stipend. The awards give us the opportunity to celebrate a commitment to teaching among our ranks. These awards reflect our collective commitment to excellence in teaching, which is core to our aspiration to become an even greater research and teaching university with global impact.


The Golden Mustangs, SMU alumni who graduated at least fifty years ago, have established an award for the advancement of teaching and learning. This award of $1000 is given each year to a junior, tenure-track faculty member, whose teaching is consistently excellent; whose courses reflect thoughtful curricular development; and whose scholarship makes a meaningful contribution to the discipline and to student learning.


2019 Recipient:

Priscilla LuiAssistant Professor Priscilla Lui, Dedman College of Humanities & Sciences

Professor Lui joined the SMU faculty in 2016 in Psychology within Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences. Her nominator reflects on when Professor Lui arrived at SMU and immediately made an impact, touting, “She restructured her class to increase the rigor and uniformity of instruction across faculty members and to provide training to graduate teachers.” Dr. Lui’s willingness to adapt to her students’ needs is further reflected in her teaching
philosophy. She believes that, “as an instructor, research mentor, and clinical supervisor, I help students make personal contact with the content in my teaching, incorporate diverse instructional methods to engage students who differ in motivations and personal backgrounds, and facilitate students to develop critical thinking skills.”

For a list of previous recipients, click here.

The President's Associates Outstanding Faculty Award is given annually to tenured faculty for the advancement of teaching and learning. This award of $1000 is designed to honor faculty who have sustained high achievement as teachers and whose scholarship makes a meaningful contribution to student learning.

Fall 2019 Note: We are currently not accepting nominations for this award. Please check back for updates.

2018 Recipient: 

Dan Reynolds

Associate Professor Daniel Reynolds, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

This year’s President’s Associates Award to Professor Dan Reynolds. Professor Reynolds joined SMU in the Department of Mathematics in 2008 as an Assistant Professor and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2014. Related to his teaching, Dr. Reynolds materials show high teaching evaluations, rigorous and demanding classes, and devotion towards student learning. His nominator stated, “Reynolds typically boasts the department's highest numerical evaluations and he is well known for devoting countless hours to meeting with students in his office.”

For a list of past recipients, click here.

The Provost’s Recognition Award honors full-time non-tenure-track faculty who demonstrate a commitment to excellence and a consummate dedication to teaching and learning. The non-tenure-track candidate must have taught credited courses full time for a minimum of 5 continuous years prior to his/her year of nomination. This award provides an opportunity to honor the contributions to teaching at SMU made by these important colleagues. The award carries a $1,000 stipend.


2019 Recipients:

Rachel GoodmanRachel Goodman, Lyle School of Engineering

Professor Goodman joined the SMU community in 2011 and was quickly recognized as an outstanding teacher. Her students often cite her as an exemplar of SMU’s excellence in teaching and advising. As a student letter commented, “I still consider Professor Goodman the mentor that made the most impact on my academic career and the effects have lasted my time at SMU.” Additionally, Professor Goodman holds a commitment to making her classes applicable within a professional field, as her teaching statement reflects “It is my job to design an organizational framework in which effective learning can take place, create an atmosphere that enables and encourages student involvement, and provide a set of tools that students can use when they enter the professional world.”



Steve Robertson

Stephen Robertson, Dedman College of Humanities & Sciences

Professor Robertson joined SMU in 2012 and currently serves as a senior lecturer and advisor to the Master’s in Applied Statistics and Data Analysis. As his nominator suggests, Dr. Robertson “deserves the lion’s share of credit” for the program’s success. He teaches the most important courses, leads recruitment, advising, and job placement for the 20-25 students in the program each year.” Further, students note his high energy level, willingness to meet them where they are, and his high level of respect for students and colleagues. In addition to his strong classroom teaching and advising, a colleague of Professor Robertson expresses, “Steve is an ideal colleague — reliable, unselfish, and committed to advancing the common good . . . every healthy organization of any size has a handful of unsung heroes who ‘make the world go around’. Steve is such a person.”


To see a list of prior winners of this award, click here.