Center for Teaching Excellence

SMU’s Center for Teaching Excellence (CTE) is an ongoing catalyst for the growth of a university culture that values, supports, and rewards effective student-centered teaching.



The CTE is available to assist you with your face-to-face and online course design needs. Additionally, we can assist you with consultations about technology implementation (for student engagement and subject matter showcase), assessment strategies, and research-based strategies to improve learning. 

Schedule your course design consultation now or contact CTE's Instructional Designers - Addy Tolliver, Ed.D.or Doug Wilson, Ph.D. for more information.  

2018 Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Award Winners 

Since 2001, The Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor Award annually recognizes SMU faculty members for their notable commitment to and achievements in fostering student learning. This year's winners are Professors Maribeth Kuenzi, Owen Lynch, Meghan Ryan, and Brandilyn Stigler. The winners receive $10,000 and are appointed to a two-year term in the SMU Academy of Distinguished Teachers. Learn more.