Faculty and Research

Dedman Law has an impressive faculty that excels in teaching and research. Our faculty features numerous recipients of university-wide research awards as well as national and international awards and distinctions. The Tsai Center is pleased to support the research endeavors of SMU Dedman School of Law faculty in the area of law, science and innovation.

Daniel Baucum

Adjunct Professor of Law (Counseling the Small Business Owner)

Lackland H Bloom

Lackland H. Bloom, Jr.

Larry and Jane Harlan Senior Research Fellow and Professor of Law

Christa Brown-Sanford

Adjunct Professor of Law (Patent Prosecution)

David Carstens

Adjunct Professor of Law (International Intellectual Property)

David J. Cho

Alan D. Feld Endowed Professor of Law and Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor

Wilson Chu

Adjunct Professor of Law (Corporate Planning: Lifecycle of a Tech Startup)

John M. Cone

Adjunct Professor of Law (Trademarks)

Nathan Cortez

Co-Director of the Tsai Center for Law, Science and Innovation and Adelfa Botello Callejo Endowed Professor of Law in Leadership and Latino Studies (Food and Drug Law, Health Law, International Health, Administrative Law, Legislation and Regulation)

Charles M. Hosch

Adjunct Professor of Law (Trade Secrets and Business Torts)

Richard J. Johnson

(Information Privacy and Security Law)

Jeffrey Kahn

Professor of Law (Administrative Law)

 Thomas WM Mayo

 Thomas Wm. Mayo 

Dean ad Interim, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor and Professor of Law (Bioethics, Health Law, Election Law, Nonprofit Organizations)

 Oryl Mazur

Orly Mazur

Associate Professor of Law (Technology and Taxation)

Michael D. Pegues

Michael D. Pegues

Shareholder, Practice Vice Chair, Polsinelli


Phillip Philbin

Adjunct Professor of Law (Patent Litigation)

Carla Reyes

Carla L. Reyes

Assistant Professor of Law (Law and Technology, Blockchain Technology and Artificial Intelligence)

C. Paul Rogers, III

Professor of Law and Former Dean (Antitrust; Selected Problems in Antitrust)

Meghan J. Ryan

Meghan J. Ryan

Co-Director of the Tsai Center for Law, Science and Innovation, Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor, and Professor of Law (Law and Science)

Mark A. Shank

Adjunct Professor of Law (Employment Law)

Barton E. Showalter

Adjunct Professor of Law (Intellectual Property Licensing)

Bruce S. Sostek

Patent Litigation

David O. Taylor

David O. Taylor

Robert G. Storey Distinguished Faculty Fellow, Co-Director of the Tsai Center for Law, Science and Innovation and Professor of Law

 Jenia Iontcheva Turner

 Jenia Iontcheva Turner

Amy Abboud Ware Centennial Professor in Criminal Law (Criminal Law and Technology)


John Vernon

Adjunct Professor of Law (Franchising and Distribution Law; International Franchising Law)

Peter Vogel

Adjunct Professor of Law (Advanced Commercial Law: Law of Electronic Commerce)