Garry Weber End Zone Complex

Igniting the future of Mustang football

Sparked by a $50 million commitment from the Garry Weber Foundation – the largest gift in the history of SMU Athletics – and a $15 million gift from Bill Armstrong ’82 and Liz Martin Armstrong ’82 the University will break ground December 2, 2022, on the three-level, 192,500-square-foot Garry Weber End Zone Complex. The $100 million project at Gerald J. Ford Stadium will increase the functionality, efficiency and overall experience of Mustang Football and its fans. It also continues SMU’s century-long commitment to competing at the highest levels.

Field cabana

Expected impact

  • Bolsters the efficiency, occupancy and functionality of Ford Stadium through better accessibility and premium fan seating.
  • Empowers Mustang student-athletes with dynamic new spaces for strategy- and team-building activities.
  • Strengthens the health and well-being of SMU Athletics through improved nutrition and sports medicine facilities, as well as better training and recovery options.
  • Furthers SMU Athleticsʼ momentum toward the upper echelons of competitive athletics.

Building on a legacy of athletic excellence

The new Garry Weber End Zone Complex will anchor Ford Stadium’s south bowl that will connect the stadium’s existing east and west gate entries. The three levels of the new complex will increase the functionality, efficiency and overall experience of Mustang football for student-athletes and fans.

Exterior west

Team-focused spaces will include new locker rooms, a weight room, position-specific meeting rooms, a full-team auditorium and a kitchen and training table to support all of SMU’s 484 student-athletes. The new facility will also house football coaches, support staff and video and recruiting services.


The newly constructed concourse will offer premium experiences for fans, expand guest facilities, improve pedestrian accessibility and add an inviting breezeway that joins the stadium’s entryways to the internal field.

Build your legacy

The Garry Weber End Zone Complex supports the SMU Ignited campaign goal to enhance our campus and community through nationally competitive athletics, community engagement and diverse public programming.

For more information about giving opportunities to SMU Athletics in support of the Garry Weber End Zone Complex, please contact Joshua Whittenburg, assistant athletics director for development, at or 214-768-3315.