Degree Honors - 2011 - 2012

The Official Degree Honors cutoffs for the 2011-12 academic year are based on all graduates from 2008-2009, 2009-2010, and 2010-2011.

School Summa Cum Laude Magna Cum Laude Cum Laude
Cox School of Business 3.888 3.822 3.765
Dedman College 3.881 3.793 3.711
Lyle School of Engineering 3.899 3.832 3.761
Meadows School of the Arts 3.855 3.767 3.692
Simmons School of EHD 3.881 3.793 3.711

The awarding of graduation honors will be determined by the minimum GPAs announced at the beginning of each academic year for each of the five undergraduate schools. The minimum GPAs for each school have been determined by pooling all graduates in the school from the previous three academic years and determining the GPAs in each school that represent the top 5 percent, 10 percent, and 15 percent. Students earning a degree with majors in two or more schools will receive the highest degree honors for which they are eligible.

The GPA used to determine honors is the lower of the student's SMU cumulative GPA and all-college GPA (includes transfer work).