Degree Honors

There are three classes of graduation honors: summa cum laude, magna cum laude and cum laude. The awarding of graduation honors is determined by minimum GPAs announced at the beginning of each academic year for each of the five undergraduate schools – Dedman, Cox, Lyle, Meadows and Simmons. The minimum GPAs generally represent the top 5 percent, 10 percent and 15 percent of graduates in the school. Students earning a degree with majors in two or more schools receive the highest degree honors for which they are eligible. The minimum GPAs for each school are determined by pooling all graduates in the school from the previous three academic years and determining the GPAs in each school that represent the top fifth, 10th and 15th percentiles. The GPA used is the lower of your SMU cumulative GPA and all-college GPA (this includes transfer work) and includes undergraduate coursework only.

To view the Degree Honors, select an academic year from the links on the right.

Other Honors

Separate from earning graduation honors, students who complete the requirements of the University Honors Program may earn honors in the liberal arts. Departmental distinction is also awarded in Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences, Lyle School of Engineering, Meadows School of the Arts, and Simmons School of Education and Human Development; the Cox School of Business awards the honors in business distinction to students who have successfully completed the requirements for the Cox B.B.A. Honors Program. These honors require completion of requirements prescribed by the department or school. Further information is obtained from the individual departments and schools.