Visiting Artists

Some of the dance profession's greatest creative talents visit the Meadows Division of Dance as part of an extensive guest artist program. Master classes, short-term residencies, guest choreographers, and visiting professionals are a regular part of the academic calendar and provide students the opportunity to interact with and learn from the artists and creative leaders of the dance world.

Past guest artists have included:

Robert Battle (Artistic Director, The Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater)
Ruth Andrien (Artistic Director, Taylor 2)
Douglas Becker (Former dancer, Frankfurt Ballet/Forsythe Repertory)
Alison Chase (Founder, Alison Chase Performance, Apogee Arts)
Yuriko Kikuchi (Martha Graham Dance Company)
Donald McKayle (Artistic Director, UCI Dance)
Arthur Mitchell (Artistic Director Emeritus, Dance Theatre of Harlem)
Shawn Stevens (Twyla Tharp Foundation)
Ben Stevenson (Artistic Director, Texas Ballet Theater)
Paul Taylor (Founder, Paul Taylor Dance Company)
Nina Watt (Master Teacher, Limón Dance Company)
Shen Wei (Founder, Shen Wei Dance Arts)
Maia Wilkins (The Joffrey Ballet)
Joost Vrouenraets (Founder, Gotra Ballet)

Past master classes have included:

Richard Alston (Artistic Director, Richard Alston Dance Company)
Baba Chuck Davis (Founder, African American Dance Ensemble)
Lorraine Graves (Former principal dancer, Dance Theatre of Harlem)
*Zac Hammer (Former dancer, Parsons Dance Company)
Amy Marshall (Artistic Director, Amy Marshall Dance Company)
*Annmaria Mazzini (Principal dancer, Paul Taylor Dance Company)
Stephen Petronio (Artistic Director, Stephen Petronio Company)
Benoit-Swan Pouffer (Former Artistic Director, Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet)
Summer Rhatigan (Director, San Francisco Conservatory of Dance)
*George Smallwood (Paul Taylor Dance Company)
*Jamal Story (The Color Purple)
Eric Yow (Artistic Director, Yow Dance Company)
Jawole Willa Jo Zollar (Founder/Artistic Director, Urban Bush Women)

* denotes alumni of the SMU Meadows Division of Dance.