Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Sponsored by the Moody School of Graduate and Advanced Studies and the Office of Student Academic Engagement and Success, Outstanding Graduate Student Instruction Awards recognize exemplary contributions to the teaching of SMU undergraduates by graduate student instructors and teaching assistants.  Two awards, each including a $1,000 prize, are made annually.  In recognition of the very different ways graduate students can contribute to the teaching of SMU undergraduates, one award is granted to a graduate student whose primary teaching experience has been as instructor of record of a course and one award is granted to a graduate student whose primary experience has been as a teaching assistant, lab instructor, or other similar role.  Nominations are accepted from academic departments in February, and awards are made by during the spring semester.

Previous Award Recipients:


Meghan Beddingfield, Religious Studies PhD Program

Arvin Maghsoudlou, Art History PhD Program

Austin Mullins, Physics PhD Program


Danyal Ahsanullah, Electrical Engineering PhD Program

Anne Parfitt, Anthropology PhD Program