Faculty and Curriculum Committees

SMU is proud to have faculty and curriculum committees for our Moody Online programs that are deeply committed to student success and focused on creating strong leaders through continually updated curriculum and hands-on coursework.

Our faculty and curriculum committee members bring a diverse range of expertise to the programs they advise. MPP committee members have extensive backgrounds in different areas of policy including education, literacy, veteran services, economics and immigration. MHA committee members include faculty with expertise in public health, healthcare law, bio ethics, and leaders from systems such as Methodist Dallas, Parkland, UT Southwestern and Children’s Hospitals. Many committee members hold leadership positions in the industry.



M.P.P. Faculty and Curriculum Developers

Eva Chiang

Eva Chiang, Ph.D.
Lead Faculty and Academic Coordinator, M.P.P.

Eva Chiang serves as the lead faculty and academic coordinator for the online Master of Public Policy program. In this role she oversees the curriculum design and delivery, as well as student onboarding and support.

In addition to her role at SMU, Dr. Chiang serves as the managing director, leadership and programming at the George W. Bush Institute, where she leads evaluation and research work and leadership programming, including the Presidential Leadership Scholars program and the Stand-To Veteran Leadership program.

Previously, Dr. Chiang taught pre-k through college-level students, trained teachers, developed curricula and designed programs. Her research interests include finding solutions to attracting, supporting and retaining great talent in organizations, as well as policy evaluation methods.

Dr. Chiang received her Ph.D. from SMU in education, and she was named a University Council for Educational Administration (UCEA) Clark Scholar. She also holds a J.D. from Texas A&M University School of Law, an M.A.T. from Texas Women’s University and a B.A. in Writing from Baylor University.
Molly K. Ellis

Molly K. Ellis, Ph.D.
M.P.P. Faculty Director of Strategic Initiatives

Molly K. Ellis, Ph.D. is a dedicated educator and researcher specializing in higher education, organizational theory and data-driven decision-making. Currently serving as the director of strategic initiatives at SMU’s Office of Faculty Success, she plays a pivotal role in leading strategic initiatives and co-directing the institution’s Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) to enhance its accreditation. With a Ph.D. in Education and a Master of Education in Educational Leadership, she possesses a wealth of knowledge in research methods and analytics.

In addition to her contributions to academia, Molly has over seven years of graduate-level teaching experience. Her courses in research methods, statistics, leadership and survey design have equipped students with the necessary skills for conducting research in complex policy environments.
Thomas Osang

Thomas Osang, Ph.D.
M.P.P. Curriculum Committee Member
Associate Professor in the Department of Economics

Thomas Osang is an associate professor in the Department of Economics at SMU. He received his Ph.D. in Economics from the University of California, San Diego. He is a member of the American Economic Association and the Verein fuer Socialpolitik, Germany. He is a recipient of SMU’s M Award and the Altshuler Distinguished Teacher Award.

His research and teaching interests focus on topics in international trade, trade policy and economic development. He is an associate editor of Frontiers of Political Science – Political Economy section. He is the author of two books, several book chapters and numerous articles in publications such as the Southern Economic Journal, the Canadian Journal of Economics, the Journal of International Economics, the Journal of Public Economics, PS: Political Science & Politics and the American Economic Review.
Anne Wicks

Anne Wicks
M.P.P. Curriculum Committee Member
Ann Kimball Johnson Director, Education and Opportunity
George W. Bush Institute

Anne Wicks, the Ann Kimball Johnson Director of Education and Opportunity at the George W. Bush Institute, develops and oversees policy, research and engagement work of the Bush Institute’s Education and Economic Growth teams, which focus on accountability, literacy, pathways to opportunity, immigration and economic mobility. She currently serves as a board member for Dallas Afterschool and Instruction Partners.

Before joining the Bush Institute, Wicks served as an associate dean at the University of Southern California’s Rossier School of Education. Her portfolio includes communications, advancement and a variety of special projects, including the launch of Ednovate Charter Schools. Over her career she has held roles in Teach for America, the Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health and Stanford University.

Wicks holds a B.A. in American Studies and an M.A. in Education from Stanford University (during which she taught 8th grade social studies), as well as a MBA from the University of Southern California. A former captain of Stanford’s women’s volleyball team, she was part of three national championship teams, two as a player and one as an assistant coach. She is the parent of a public school student.
Matthew Wilson

Matthew Wilson, Ph.D.
M.P.P. Curriculum Committee Member
Kairo Enndowed Director of the Center for Faith and Learning and Associate Professor of Political Science

Matthew Wilson is Kairo Endowed Director of the Center for Faith and Learning and Associate Professor of political science at SMU. He is also a senior fellow of the John Tower Center for Public Policy and International Affairs and of the Italian Institute for International Political Studies. He is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Louisiana State University in political science and history and holds a Ph.D. in Political Science from Duke University.

His research focuses on public opinion, elections, representation and the role of race and religion in politics, both in the United States and abroad. He is the author, co-author or editor of three books, including Understanding American Politics and Politics and Religion in the United States and dozens of articles and essays. His teaching has been honored with awards from the SMU Department of Residence Life and the Cary M. Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility, and in 2017 he received SMU’s President’s Associates Outstanding Faculty Award. He routinely serves as a commentator on political affairs for local, national and international media outlets.