News and Events

Apply Now MSA Visit

SMU Debate Team Rises to Top Ten National IPDA Ranking

Meadows students Ngo, Pittman score high in junior varsity division

Meadows students Audrey Ngo (center, with two trophies) and Connor Pittman (second from right) were among the top competitors in a recent IPDA debate competition.

Next: Public debate on climate change

SMU will host a public debate on Thursday, November 16 at 7 p.m. in O’Donnell Hall, located on the second floor of the Owen Arts Center on the SMU campus. The event is free and open to the public. Public comments and arguments are welcome.
Map to O’Donnell Hall

SMU’s nationally ranked Debate Team competed in Marshall, Texas at East Texas Baptist University over the weekend of November 10-11 and came away with wins and accolades, including joining the ranks of the Top Ten U.S. debate teams as determined by the International Public Debate Association (IPDA). More than 70 universities and colleges participate in IPDA debates including University of North Texas, Texas Christian University, Texas A&M, University of Virginia, University of Tennessee and Idaho State University.

In current national rankings, SMU’s novice debate squad is ranked second, topped only by Union University of Jackson, Tenn. SMU’s combined novice/junior varsity/varsity squad is ranked seventh in the nation. SMU students Matthew Lucci and Maggie Cook Allen are ranked first and third nationally as individual speakers in novice, the highest national squad rankings of SMU debate in more than 10 years.

During the competition, Meadows film student Audrey Ngo (B.A. French ’20) was awarded highest-rated “first speaker” by the competition’s seven judges in the junior varsity division after completing a 5-2 recod in preliminary rounds. Journalism, political science and human rights triple-major Connor Pittman (’21) scored three wins and four losses in the junior varsity division.

SMU debaters are coached by alumnus Jaden Warren (’17; top speaker at the 2016 Pi Kappa Delta National Forensics championships in Lexington, Ky.); SMU Lecturer in English Ross Sloan; and Keith Milstead, president of the International Public Debate Association. The SMU debate program is directed by Meadows Associate Professor Dr. Ben Voth. The SMU debate program is supported by SMU Meadows School of the Arts and SMU Student Affairs.

Read more about SMU Debate.

Most Recent SEE ALL »

News and Events

Art History After Hours

MPRINT Magazine

Meadows News

Meadows News

Meadows News - 2018

Meadows News - 2017

Meadows News - 2016

Meadows News - 2015

Meadows News - 2014

Meadows News - 2013

Meadows News - 2012

Meadows News - 2011

News By Category

Featured Media

In the Media

Events Calendar

Performing Arts Season

Music Recitals

Events Newsletter

Meadows Events Parking

Directions & Public Transportation

Meadows Diploma Presentation Ceremony