Schedule of Events

SMU's 107th Commencement Weekend is May 13 and 14, 2022. The activities that make up Commencement Weekend showcase some of the University's best traditions and are designed to recognize the pride we all feel in our students' accomplishments. The spirit of community combined with our celebration of the individual is what makes SMU's Commencement a special time.

Below you will find schedules and descriptions of the events that make up Commencement Weekend.

All-University Commencement

Saturday, May 14

Location: Gerald J. Ford Stadium
Time: 9:00 a.m.

On Saturday morning, the All-University May Commencement assembles degree candidates from all of SMU's schools and professional programs. Commencement speakers will offer their congratulations to our newest class of graduates and President Turner will confer degrees. Doctoral students (Ph.D., Ed.D., DE, and DLS) will receive recognition as they cross the stage. At the conclusion of the ceremony, "Varsity" is played and a prayer is said for the new alumni.  Doctoral candidates are recognized by name at this ceremony and all other students receive individual recognition at their school/department ceremonies. 

Candidate tickets are required for entry into Ford Stadium. Tickets are not required for guests. Please see Request Commencement Tickets for more information. Guests who prefer to sit indoors may watch the ceremony at the simulcast location in Crum Auditorium. 

Guests with limited mobility attending the attending the Saturday morning All-University Commencement may park in Lot D (space is limited) located on Ownby Drive. To park in this location, a current state-issued disabled parking placard and/or license plate are needed. Otherwise, guests may be dropped off on Saturday morning  at Ford Stadium on the curve of Bush Avenue. Drivers can then park in any SMU parking garage. 

 

Guests who are unable to attend the ceremony may stream it at smu.edu/live.

 

Degree Recognition Ceremonies

The academic school or departmental ceremony is an opportunity for each program to celebrate as a cohort group and honor each graduate as they walk across the stage. Contact your particular school or department for more information.

Friday, May 13, 2022

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development

PhD, EdD, Master of Education, Master of Bilingual Education, and UG Education Studies

Time: 9:00 a.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium

• Tickets are required.

Counseling, Dispute Resolution, Doctor of Liberal Studies, Master of Liberal Studies, Master of Science in Health Promotion Management, GR Sport Management, and UG APSM

Time: 12:00 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium

• Tickets are required.

Contact: simmonsgraduation@smu.edu

Dedman College

World Languages

Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Mack Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Diana Coon, 214-768-1346, dcoon@smu.edu

Dedman School of Law

Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum

Contact: Bobbye Heine, 214-768-2108, bheine@smu.edu

 

 

Moody School of Graduate and Advanced Studies

Doctoral Graduate Recognition Dinner (for Students Receiving a Ph.D., D.E., and Ed.D.)

Time: 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Location: Great Hall in Prothro Hall
Contact: Alan Itkin, 214-768-4202, aitkin@smu.edu

Master of Science in Applied Statistics and Data Analytics

Time: 6:00 p.m.
Location: Double Tree by Hilton - Dallas Campbell Centre
Contact: Ginny Diaz, 214-768-3034, ginnyd@smu.edu

Saturday, May 14, 2022

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Mathematics, Physics and Statistical Science
Time: 12:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Auditorium
Contacts: Liz Berry (primary contact) 214-768-2506, lberry@smu.edu; Benisha Young (secondary contact) 214-768-2495, blyoung@smu.edu;  Sheila Crain (third contact) 214-768-1426, scrain@smu.edu

Religious Studies

Time: 11:30 a.m.
Location: Bridwell Library, Blue Room 
Contact: Karen Delk, 214-768-4011, kdelk@smu.edu

Earth Sciences

Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Stephanie Schwob, 214-768-2946, sschwob@smu.edu

English

Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: Mack Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Mary Felipe, 214-768-2946, mfelipe@smu.edu

Political Science, International Studies, Latin American Studies and Public Policy

Time: 12:00 p.m.
Location: Crum Auditorium, Collins Center
Contact: Melissa Emmert, 214-768-4171, memmert@smu.edu

• Tickets are required.

Sociology and Markets and Culture

Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Karen Delk, 214-768-4011, kdelk@smu.edu

History

Time: 1:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Auditorium 
Contact: Margi Evans, 214-768-2984, mfevans@smu.edu

Human Rights

Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Crum Auditorium, Collins Center
Contact: Sherry Aikman, 214-768-8347, saikman@smu.edu

Biochemistry and Chemistry

Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Mack Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Mandy Graham, 214-768-2611, mtgraham@smu.edu

Philosophy

Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Lacey DeMara, 214-768-4306, ldemara@smu.edu

Psychology

Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contacts: Krista Pruitt, 214-768-2438, knpruitt@smu.edu; Tamara Howell, 214-768-4924, tamarah@smu.edu

• Tickets are required.

Anthropology

Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: Mack Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact Tiffany Powell, 214-768-2684, tapowell@smu.edu

Biological Sciences

Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Auditorium
Contact: Mary Varela, 214-768-2217, mvarela@smu.edu

Economics

Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contact: Margaux Montgomery, 214-768-4337, margauxm@smu.edu

Cox School of Business

Undergraduate Ceremony

Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum
Contacts: Dee Powell, 214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu; Barbara Mohrle, 214-768-4142, bmohrle@smu.edu

Graduate Ceremony

Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum
Contacts: Dee Powell, 214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu; Julie Maass, 214-768-3537, jmaass@smu.edu

SMU Guildhall

Time: 11:30 a.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contacts: Mallory Trumpfheller, 214-768-5141, medens@smu.edu; Mary Endsley, 214-768-5130, mendsley@smu.edu

• Tickets are required.

Perkins School of Theology

Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Highland Park United Methodist Church
Contact: Joe Monroy, 214-768-2152, jmonroy@smu.edu

Master of Science in Data Science

Time: 1:30 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contacts: Kimberly Rutigliano, 214-768-1022, krutigliano@smu.edu; Brenda Park, 214-768-8446, blpark@smu.edu

Lyle School of Engineering

Time: 5:00 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum
Contacts: Misti Compton, 214-768-3415, mcompton@smu.edu; Jim Dees, 214-768-1456, jdees@smu.edu

Meadows School of the Arts

Time: 6:30 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contact: Meadows Operation and Events, (214)-768-2713, (214)-768-4211

Meadows Recognition Ceremony - Meadows School of the Arts, SMU

 

 

 

 

 

Baccalaureate and Rotunda Recessional

Friday, May 13

Time: 5:00 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium and Dallas Hall Rotunda
(Undergraduate students only)

The Baccalaureate Service is a non-denominational religious ceremony held the Friday evening before May Commencement in McFarlin Auditorium. This small and intimate service features a special sermon for undergraduate candidates and their guests. The service lasts approximately one hour. Seating in McFarlin Auditorium is limited; therefore, candidates may request two guest tickets. Extra tickets not requested for Baccalaureate are distributed on the stairs in front of McFarlin Auditorium at 4:00 p.m. Please see Request Weekend Tickets for more information. The ceremony is simulcast in the Hughes-Trigg Theater or can be viewed at smu.edu/live.

One of the University's most symbolic traditions is Rotunda Passage, which includes both a processional and a recessional. The processional occurs the day before students' first day of classes as new students. Students process through the back of Dallas Hall, through the Rotunda and onto the quad as a new member of the SMU student body. This tradition is concluded with the Rotunda Recessional following the Baccalaureate Service during Commencement Weekend. Undergraduate candidates, led by faculty and alumni marshals, march through the front doors of Dallas Hall, through the Rotunda and around to the quad.

Rotunda Recessional is a symbolic departure from campus and serves as a welcome to the newest members of the SMU alumni family.

Alumni who are parents of graduating seniors are welcome to participate as marshals for Baccalaureate. Please contact Matt Hunt at mehunt@smu.edu.  

Guests with limited mobility attending the Baccalaureate service on Friday, May 13 may park behind McFarlin Auditorium in the M Lot. A current state-issued disabled parking placard and/or license plate is needed. Otherwise, guests may be dropped off by McFarlin Auditorium on Boaz Lane and drivers can park in any SMU parking garage. 

Residential Commons Graduation Receptions

Saturday, May 14

All celebrations for graduating seniors, both those residing in the commons or alumni of the commons, are held immediately following the All-University Commencement outside their respective Residential Common. If it rains, celebration items can be picked up from the Residential Common's lobby.

Class of 1972 Reunion

The SMU Class of 1972 celebrates its 50-year reunion the weekend of May 13-14, 2022. Led by reunion co-chairs, our reunion groups will receive special recognition during the Commencement ceremony. Later that afternoon, they will officially become Golden Mustangs. For more information or to register for your 50th reunion, please contact SMU Reunion Programs at 1-800-766-4371, by e-mail reunionyear@smu.edu or by visiting smu.edu/50years.