Events

Schedule of Events

Honorary Degree and Symposium

The work and contributions of a prestigious leader will be honored with an honorary degree at the University's May 18 Commencement ceremony. Please check back later in the spring for a list of this year's recipient.

 

Baccalaureate Service  (Undergraduate Candidates Only)

Friday, May 17

Carillon Concert

Location: Fondren Science Bell Tower
Time: 7:15 p.m.

Assembly of Candidates for Baccalaureate (Undergraduate Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle in front of Dallas Hall
Time: 7:20 p.m.

Baccalaureate Service (Undergraduate Candidates Only)

Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Time: 8:00 p.m.

  • Live simulcast held in the Hughes-Trigg Student Center Theatre.
  • Students may request two guest passes. Doors to McFarlin open at 6:45 p.m. and guests with passes must be in their seats by 7:45 p.m.
  • Any remaining passes are distributed at 6:30 p.m. on the steps of McFarlin.
  • Rotunda Recessional follows the Baccalaureate Service.

Rotunda Recessional (Undergraduate Candidates Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle and Dallas Hall Rotunda
Time: 9:00 p.m. (approximately)

 

All-University Commencement Convocation

Saturday, May 18

Assembly of Candidates for Procession (Candidates Only)

Location: Crum Basketball Center and Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports
Time: 7:30 a.m.

  • SMU custom regalia required.

All-University Commencement Convocation

Location: Moody Coliseum
Time: 9:00 a.m.

All-University Commencement Convocation Simulcast Locations

Locations: Crum Auditorium and Bolin Plaza

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Commencement Luncheon

The Commencement Buffet Luncheon will be held Saturday, May 19 during Commencement Weekend from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at Arnold Dining Commons, located within walking distance of Moody Coliseum.  SMU graduates eat free with the purchase of a guest meal.  Pre-paid reservations are highly recommended and can be made by calling our reservation line at 214-768-2377.  If you have any questions regarding the luncheon, please e-mail dining@smu.edu.

 

Diploma Presentation Ceremonies and Receptions

Friday, May 17

The Guildhall at SMU, Hart eCenter

Time: 6:00 p.m.
Location: Noah's Event Venue - Richardson
Address: 2251 North Greeneville Avenue, Richardson, TX 75082
Contact: Mallory Trumpfheller (214-240-4244, medens@smu.edu)

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development

PhD, EdD, Master of Education, Master of Bilingual Education, and UG Education Studies 

Time: 11:00 a.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Reception: Harold Clark Simmons Hall Atrium, immediately following ceremony 
Contact: Lisa Bell (214-768-7587, simmonsgraduation@smu.edu)

Counseling, Dispute Resolution, Master of Liberal Studies, GR Sport Management, and UG APSM

Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Reception: Annette Caldwell Simmons Hall Atrium, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Lisa Bell (214-768-7587, simmonsgraduation@smu.edu)

Master of Science in Data Science

Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Student Center Theater
Contact: Jennifer Buenrostro (214-768-1104, jbuenros@smu.edu)

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Master of Science in Applied Statistics and Data Analytics
Time: 5:00 p.m
Location: Fondren Science 153
Dinner: 6:00 p.m in Heroy 153
Contact: Gina Diaz (214-768-3034, ginnyd@smu.edu)

World Languages
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ball Room, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Teresa Janicki (214-768-1405, tjanicki@smu.edu)

Loyd Commons Graduation Celebration

Time: 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Location: TBA (Invitation and RSVP will be mailed)
Contact: Alice Kendrick (214-768-2381, akendric@smu.edu)

Saturday, May 18

Cox School of Business - Undergraduate

Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Collins Center, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu)

Cox School of Business - Graduate

Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Collins Center, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu)

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Reception: Dallas Hall Rotunda, 12:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

** Please check with your department; some ceremonies are ticketed events.

Anthropology
Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Tiffany Powell (214-768-2684, tapowell@smu.edu)

Bio-Chemistry and Chemistry
Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Mandy Graham (214-768-2611, mtgraham@smu.edu)

Biological Sciences
Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mary Varela (214-768-2217, mvarela@smu.edu)

Earth Sciences
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Stephanie Schwob (214-768-2770, sschwob@smu.edu)

Economics
Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contact: Stephanie Hall (214- 768- 2694, stephanie@smu.edu) & Anna Hamilton (214- 768- 2704, alhamilton@smu.edu

English
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Mary Felipe (214-768-2946, mfelipe@smu.edu)

History
Time: 1:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Margie Evans (214-768-2984, mfevans@smu.edu)

Human Rights
Time:  1:30 p.m.
Location: O'Donnell Hall, Owen Arts Center (Room 2130)
Reception: Taubman Atrium, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Sherry Aikman (214-768-8347, saikman@smu.edu)

Mathematics, Physics and Statistical Science
Time: 12:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre

  • UG Mathematics Contact: Scott Norris (214-768-4802, snorris@smu.edu
  • GR Mathematics Contact: Johannes Tausch (214-768-2515, tausch@smu.edu
  • Physics Contact: Roberto Vega (214-768-2498, rvega@smu.edu
  • Statistical Science Contact: Sheila Crain (214-768-1426, scrain@smu.edu

    Medieval Studies
    Due to conflicting schedules, time and location of ceremony to be announced at a later date.
    Contact: Bonnie Wheeler (214-768-2949, bwheeler@mail.smu.edu

    Philosophy
    Time: 3:00 p.m.
    Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
    Contact: Charee Stewart (214-768-2118, charees@smu.edu)

    Religious Studies
    Time: 12:00 p.m.
    Location: Bridwell Library Blue Room
    Contact: Karen Delk (214-768-2095, kdelk@smu.edu)

    Political Science, International Studies, Latin American Studies and Public Policy
    • This event requires tickets.
    Time: 12:30 p.m.
    Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center

    • Political Science Contact: Melissa Emmert (214-768-4171, memmert@smu.edu)
    • International Studies/Latin American Studies Contact: Ray Rafidi (214- 768 -3665, rrafidi@smu.edu)
    • Public Policy Contact: Christine Carberry (214-768-2526, carberry@smu.edu)

      Psychology
      • This event requires tickets.
      Time: 3:00 p.m.
      Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
      Contact: Lisa Ruano (214-768-4924, lruano@smu.edu)

      Sociology and Markets and Culture
      Time: 1:00 p.m.
      Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
      Contact: Karen Delk (214-768-4011, kdelk@smu.edu)

       

      Dedman School of Law Hooding Ceremony

      Time: 6:30 p.m.
      Location: Law School Quadrangle
      Contact: Bobbye Heine (214-768-2108, bheine@smu.edu)  

      Lyle School of Engineering

      Time: 5:00 p.m.
      Location: Moody Coliseum
      Reception: Precedes the diploma ceremony, 3:00 p.m., Hillcrest Foundation Amphitheater and Mabee Foundation Foyer, Caruth Hall, lower level

      Meadows School of the Arts

      Time: 6:30 p.m.
      Location: Owen Arts Center - Outdoors 
      Reception: 4 p.m. in the Greer Garson Theatre Lobby, preceding the Meadows Ceremony
      Contact: Meadows Operations and Events Office at 214-768-2713 or 214-768-4211 (smu.edu/Meadows/NewsAndEvents/Graduation)
      • For questions regarding degree candidacy, eligibility to participate in the ceremonies, etc., contact Jennifer R. Smith at 214 -768 -2754.

      Perkins School of Theology

      A Celebration of Degrees and Academic Achievements
      Time: 2:00 p.m.
      Location: Highland Park United Methodist Church, Sanctuary
      Reception: Great Hall, Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall, immediately following ceremony
      Contact: Joe Monroy (214-768-2152, jmonroy@smu.edu)