Seven Meadows Professors Win University Awards

Temerlin Professor Alice Kendrick named HOPE Professor of the Year

Alice Kendrick (left) accepts the 2017-18 HOPE Professor of the Year Award from advertising major Tiffany Giraudon.

Seven Meadows professors have recently been honored with University awards.

In February, five professors were among 35 campus-wide who were recognized with HOPE (Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence) Awards from SMU’s Department of Residence Life and Student Housing. HOPE Award recipients are named through student staff member nominations as professors who “have made a significant impact to our academic education both inside and outside of the classroom.” Alice Kendrick, Marriott Family Endowed Professor of Advertising, was honored as 2017-18 Professor of the Year. She was also recognized as a HOPE Distinguished Professor, signifying that she has been nominated for five or more years. Other honorees were Willie Baronet, Stan Richards Professor in Creative Advertising; Sandra Duhé, associate professor and chair of the Division of Corporate Communication and Public Affairs; Troy Perkins, associate professor of film and media arts; and Lauren Smart, professor of practice in journalism.

In addition, at the campus-wide Spring Faculty Meeting in late January, two of three awards presented went to Meadows faculty.

Stephanie Langin-Hooper, assistant professor of art history and Karl Kilinski II Chair of Hellenic Visual Culture, won the Golden Mustang Award. The award was established by the Golden Mustangs, SMU alumni who graduated at least 50 years ago, for the advancement of teaching and learning. The award of $1000 is given each year to a junior, tenure-track faculty member whose teaching is consistently excellent; whose courses reflect thoughtful curricular development; and whose scholarship makes a meaningful contribution to the discipline and to student learning.

Also at the spring meeting, Jim Hart, professor of practice, director of arts entrepreneurship and interim chair of the Division of Arts Management and Arts Entrepreneurship, received the Provost’s Teaching Recognition Award. The $1000 award honors full-time, non-tenure-track faculty who demonstrate a commitment to excellence and a consummate dedication to teaching and learning.