Faculty & Student Awards

Research Assignment Stipend

SMU Libraries encourages faculty to integrate new information literacy components into undergraduate and graduate coursework in collaboration with librarians. Winning faculty members will be awarded a $1000 stipend upon completion of a report on the impact on learning in the course.

Apply for the Research Assignment Stipend

Fall 2022 Winners

  • Dr. Piyawan Charoensap-Kelly, in collaboration with Social Science Research Librarian Naomi Schemm, for Communication Theory (CCPA 2327).
  • Dr. Alejandro D'Brot, in collaboration with Engineering Librarian Sylvia Jones, for Gene Editing Lab (BIOL 4380). 
  • Dr. K. Ann Horsburgh, in collaboration with Social Science Research Librarian Julia Anderson, for Human Nature: Who are we? And how did we get this way? (ANTH 2382).
  • Dr. Janice Lindstrom, in collaboration with Music and Theatre Librarian, Pam Pagels, for Developmental Music Therapy (MUTY 3211). 
  • Dr. Mark McCoy, in collaboration with Engineering Librarian Sylvia Jones, for How to Build a Time Machine: Technology for Reconstructing Our Past (ANTH 2360).
  • Annette Nevins, in collaboration with Director of Educational Initiatives, Megan Heuer for News Reporting (JOUR 2312).

Previous winners and reports

The Larrie and Bobbi Weil Undergraduate Research Award

The Larrie and Bobbi Weil Undergraduate Research Award recognizes a student research paper that demonstrates depth, breadth, and thoughtful command of library resources. The winning student receives an award at Honors Convocation and $500. The winning paper is placed in the SMU Archives and in SMU Scholar and may be published in the SMU Journal of Undergraduate Research.

Faculty may submit nominations.

2022 Winner

 Justin Patty

Justin Patty, Arthur Cotton and the Development of Public Works

Nominated by Dr. Jo Guldi, HIST 4300

Previous Winners  

STAR Award

The Business Library presents the Super Teacher Advocating Research (STAR) Award to faculty who include opportunities for students to apply research skills in their course(s). Selected faculty work closely with business librarians to develop assignments and determine the best ways to teach and assess research. It is awarded to one faculty member each year at the Cox Fall Faculty Retreat.

2021 Winner

David Jacobson receiving STAR Award from Business librarians

David Jacobson, Executive Director Online Education and Professor of Practice

Previous winners