Apps.SMU

Log In

Please note:  To help enhance application and data security, effective Thursday, April 2, 2020, Duo Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) is required to access this service.
Name

I am presented with a Client File Security popup when I launch an application via Citrix. What choices should I make?

The Client File Security popup is Citrix’s way of granting you with remote application access to your local system drives. When prompted with the Client File Security popup, you should choose the level of access the remote application will have with your local drives and then choose if you would like to be asked this question again. Your responses should be based on your level of trust with the Citrix environment. 

This setting can be changed by right clicking the Citrix Receiver icon in the system tray and selecting Online Sessions  Connection Center. From there you can change the security settings you had previously selected.

How long before an inactive Citrix session is disconnected?

Your session will be disconnected after 6 hours of idle time (no activity) and terminated after 2 hour of disconnected time.

I am getting prompted to download ICA File, Launch.ica, Instead of launching the Connection.

After downloading and installing the ICA client, be sure to close the IE browser session from which you initiated your Citrix access and open a new, fresh IE browser session. 
Make sure your Internet Explorer application allows saving of encrypted files (IE menu Tools -> Internet Options -> Advanced tab -> uncheck security option near bottom "Do not save encrypted pages to disk").

Why does it take a few seconds to begin an application when first clicked?

Within a Citrix environment, the first loading of an application is similar to your PC. It is loaded into the Citrix server and then emulated for your screen. After this initial load, the application should perform as normal.

How do I save a file from a Citrix application to my local workstation?

To save a file from a Citrix application to your local workstation you will need to first grant “Full Access” (See FAQ #1) to your local hard drive. Once the application is open you will need to follow the normal method for saving the file. When selecting a destination to save the file, you will notice a drive mapping labeled C on Client, where Client is your workstations name. This is your local C:\ drive. From here you can navigate to the location you wish to save the file. The same will apply for any other physical and network drives on your local workstation.

How do I save a file from a Citrix application to my U drive or My Documents? 

In the Citrix environment, your My Documents folder (along with a few others) are redirected to your U drive. When you launch an application from apps.smu.edu, a folder called apps.smu.edu is created in your U drive. Any documents saved to your My Documents folder while working in Citrix, will be saved here and available to you outside of Citrix.

How do I print from my Citrix application?

Citrix is designed to map as your local workstation’s Default Printer. Citrix will set this printer as your Default Printer for the application that you are currently using. Follow the normal method for printing in the application and select the Default Printer for your session (most applications denote the Default Printer with a checkmark). You should recognize the name of the printer; it should be similar to the name as it appears on your local workstation. 

To print to a different printer from within Citrix, close the application; change your workstation’s Default Printer to the printer you wish to print from, and then re-launch the application. Now that printer will be mapped for use via Citrix.

Why do I see printers that aren’t mine? 

You will see other printer mappings because other users are also using the Citrix environment. Their printers are also being mapped as described in FAQ #8.

Why do I receive a pop up telling me the Citrix server is about to reboot?

As the Citrix environment experiences multiple logon and log offs by multiple users it is necessary to reboot the servers in order to clean up any rouge processes. Citrix has a built-in feature that allows the administrators to schedule a reboot for the servers.