Experts

Administration

Name Position Office & Phone Email
Jennifer Cook  Postdoctoral Fellow in Latino Public Policy
jacook@smu.edu
Luisa del Rosal Executive Director of the Tower Center 3300 University Blvd 234 Carr Collins Hall
214-768-1900
lmdelrosal@smu.edu
Olisa Dellas Manager of Student & Faculty Engagement 3300 University Blvd 231 Carr Collins Hall
214-768-4546
odellas@smu.edu
James Hollifield  Academic Director & Professor, Department of Political Science, SMU 3300 University Blvd 222 Carr Collins Hall
214-768-2825
jhollifi@smu.edu
Robert Jordan  Diplomat-in-Residence Carr Collins
214-768-3954
jordanrw56@aol.com
Bora Laci  Program Manager and Director of Studies 3300 University Blvd 229 Carr Collins Hall
214-768-4716
blaci@smu.edu
Valerie Maniscalco  Marketing and Communications Specialist 3300 University Blvd 229 Carr Collins Hall
214-768-3662
vmaniscalco@smu.edu
Ray Rafidi  Senior Associate Director 3300 University Blvd 233 Carr Collins Hall
214-768-3665
rrafidi@smu.edu
Hiroki Takeuchi  Director of the Sun & Star Program on Japan and East Asia 211 Carr Collins
214-768-2521
htakeuch@smu.edu

 

Senior Fellows

Name Position Office & Phone Email
Sabri Ates  Associate Professor of History, SMU Dallas Hall Room 65
(214) 768-2968
sates@mail.smu.edu
Eric G. Bing  Professor of Global Health, SMU Heroy Hall 421
(214) 768-2933
ebing@smu.edu
Caroline Brettell  Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, SMU 451 Heroy Hall
(214) 768-4254
cbrettel@smu.edu
Frederick Chang Chair of the Department of Computer Science, Executive Director of the Darwin Deason Institute for Cyber Security, & Bobby B. Lyle Centennial Distinguished Endowed Chair in Cyber Security, SMU
(214) 768-3189
chang@lyle.smu.edu
Harold Clarke Ashbel Smith Professor of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences, University of Texas at Dallas
(972) 883-4891
hclarke@utdallas.edu
Kathleen Cooper Senior Fellow, SMU Tower Center
Lee Cullum Journalist, Host on KERA
(214) 521-3667
lee@leecullum.com
Dennis S. Ippolito  Eugene McElvaney Professor of Political Science, SMU
Carr Collins 221
(214) 768-3198
ippolito@smu.edu
Miryam Hazan Consultant, Inter-American Development Bank
hazanmiryam@gmail.com
Jeffrey Engel Associate Professor of History & Director of the Center for Presidential History, SMU Dallas Hall 318
(214) 768-3973
jaengel@smu.edu
Neil Foley The Robert H. and Nancy Dedman Chair in History, Co-director of the Clements Center for Southwest Studies, SMU
Dallas Hall 302
(214) 768-3753
foleyn@mail.smu.edu
Robert Jordan Former Ambassador to Saudi Arabia & Diplomat-in-Residence, Tower Center, SMU Carr Collins
jordanrw56@aol.com
Lai Yee Leong Senior Fellow, John G. Tower Center for Public Policy and International Affairs Dallas Hall 58E
lleong@mail.smu.edu
Craig McKinley President and CEO, National Defense Industrial Association
cMckinley@ndia.org
Michael K. McLendon Former Dean of the School of Education, Fred and Edith Hale Endowed Professor of Higher Education Policy and Leadership, Baylor University

michael_mclendon@baylor.edu
Patrick Mordente Director, George W. Bush Library and Museum
Diana Newton Senior Fellow at the Tower Center, Lecturer in Public Policy and International Affairs, SMU
316 Carr Collins
(214) 768-4087
dhnewton@smu.edu
Joseph Norton James L. Walsh Distinguished Faculty Fellow and Professor in Financial Institutions Law, SMU

(214) 768-2777
profjnorton@yahoo.com
Lynne Novack Senior Fellow, Tower Center, SMU Carr Collins
(214) 252-9979
lnovack@swbell.net
Daniel Orlovsky Professor & George A. Bouhe Research Fellow in Russian Studies, SMU
(214) 768-3746
dorlovsk@smu.edu
Pia M. Orrenius Vice President and Senior Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
(214) 922-5747
pia.orrenius@dal.frb.org
Thomas Osang Associate Professor of Economics, SMU Umphrey Lee 301K
(214) 768-4398
tosang@smu.edu
Harold Stanley Vice President for Executive Affairs & Geurin-Pettus Distinguished Chair in American Politics and Political Economy, SMU
(214) 768-4320
hstanley@smu.edu
Hiroki Takeuchi Associate Professor of Political Science, and Director of the Sun & Star Program on Japan and East Asia, SMU
(214) 768-2521
htakeuch@smu.edu
Patrick Walsh Admiral USN (Ret.), former Commander of the Pacific Fleet 203 Carr Collins
(214) 768-3912
patrick.walsh4@yahoo.com
Matthew Wilson Associate Professor of Political Science, SMU
(214) 768-4054
jmwilson@smu.edu

 

Fellows

Name Position Office & Phone Email
Alexander Betts Leopold Muller Professor of Forced Migration and International Affairs, University of Oxford
Alexander.betts@qeh.ox.ac.uk
Jesus Cañas Senior Business Economist, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
214-922-5221
jesus.canas@dal.frb.org
Aileen Cardona-Arroyo Assistant Professor of Latino/a Studies, Pace University 3300 University Blvd 208 Carr Collins Hall
acardonaarroyo@smu.edu
Cullum Clark  Director, Bush Institute-SMU Economic Growth Initiative and Adjunct Professor of Economics, SMU

jhclark@smu.edu
Nathan Cortez Associate Dean for Research, Gerald J. Ford Research Fellow, and the Adelfa Botello Callejo Endowed Professor of Law in Leadership and Latino Studies, SMU

(214) 768-1002
ncortez@smu.edu
Eva Szalkai Csaky Director, Hunt Institute for Engineering & Humanity
(214) 768-3351
Klaus Desmet Ruth and Kenneth Altshuler Centennial Interdisciplinary Professor, Economics Professor, SMU

214-768-2689
kdesmet@smu.edu
Sionaidh Douglas-Scott Anniversary Chair in Law, Co-Director at the Centre for Law and Society in a Global Context, Queen Mary University of London
s.douglas-scott@qmul.ac.uk
Joseph F. Kobylka  Associate Professor of Political Science, SMU Carr Collins 209
(214) 768-2525
jkobylka@smu.edu
Sheri Kunovich  Associate Provost for Student Academic Engagement and Success
Hyer Hall 306E
(214) 768-1285
kunovich@smu.edu
Steven Lindquist  Associate Professor of Religious Studies and Director of Asian Studies and the Global & Regional Studies

(214) 768-2105
slindqui@smu.edu
Ken Miller Associate Professor of Government, Claremont McKenna College
909-607-7575
kmiller@cmc.edu
Tony Weldon Pederson Belo Distinguished Chair & Professor of Journalism, SMU P.O. Box 750113
(214) 768-3969
tpederso@smu.edu
Jieun Pyun Senior Program Manager, Human Freedom Initiative at the George W. Bush Institute

JPyun@bushcenter.org
Alicia Reyes-Barrientez Assistant Professor of Political Science, Texas A&M University-San Antonio 316 Carr Collins Hall
areyesbarrientez@smu.edu
Mark Roglán Linda P. and William A. Custard Director of the Meadows Museum and
Centennial Chair in the Meadows School of the Arts

214.768.2853
mroglan@smu.edu
Nicolas Sternsdorff-Cisterna  Assistant Professor of Anthropology Heroy Hall 453
214-768-2928
nsternsdorff@smu.edu
Marianne Stewart Professor of Political Science, University of Texas at Dallas 800 W. Campbell Rd.
(972) 883-2011
mstewart@utdallas.edu
Alexander Tan Associate Head of School, School of Social and Political Sciences, University of Canterbury - Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 (03) 364 2987 ext 7536
Alex.tan@canterbury.ac.nz
Herve Tchumkam  Associate Professor of French and Francophone Studies, SMU
htchumkam@smu.edu
William Tsutsui President and Professor of History, Hendrix College
(501) 450-1351
tsutsui@hendrix.edu
Stephen Wegren  Professor of Political Science & Director of International and Area Studies, SMU
(214) 768-2523
swegren@smu.edu
Anny Wong Fellow, John G. Tower Center for Public Policy and International Affairs
dr.anny.wong@gmail.com
Mark Wynne Vice President, Associate Director of Research and Director of the Globalization and Monetary Policy Institute, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas 2200 N. Pearl Street | Dallas, TX
(214) 922-5159
mark.a.wynne@dal.frb.org

 

Associates

Name Position Office & Phone Email
Kenneth Andrien  Edmund J. and Louis W. Kahn Chair in History, SMU Dallas Hall 225
(214) 768-2195
kandrien@mail.smu.edu
Dominique Baker Assistant Professor of Education Policy, SMU Annette Simmons 337
214-768-1012
djbaker@smu.edu
Nathan Balke  Professor of Economics, SMU Umphrey Lee 301A
(214) 768-2693
nbalke@smu.edu
Rachel Ball-Phillips  Director, National Student Fellowships and President’s Scholars
Adjunct Lecturer, William P. Clements Department of History
SMU

214-768-3726
rmball@smu.edu
Maryann Cairns  Assistant Professor of Anthropology at SMU
Mark Chancey  Associate Professor of Religious Studies, SMU
(214) 768-1460
mchancey@smu.edu
Marc Christensen Dean of the Lyle School of Engineering, SMU Embrey 105
(214) 768-3051
mpc@lyle.smu.edu
Karisa Cloward  Associate Professor of Political Science, SMU Carr Collins 201
(214) 768-2300
kcloward@smu.edu
Pam Corley  Associate Professor of Political Science, SMU Carr Collins 207
(214) 768-2406
pccorley@mail.smu.edu
Carrie Liu Currier Associate Professor and Chair of the Political Science Department, Texas Christian University 2007G Scharbauer Hall, TCU
(817) 257-6853
c.currier@tcu.edu
Paul Diehl Ashbel Smith Professor of Political Science, UTD
972-883-3519
pdiehl@utdallas.edu
Johan Elverskog  Professor & Chair of Religious Studies, SMU
(214) 768-4127
johan@smu.edu
Liljana Elverskog  Senior Arabic Lecturer, SMU
liljana@smu.edu
Gianna Englert  Assistant Professor, Political Science
Andrew R. Graybill  Co-Director of the William P. Clements Center for Southwest Studies & Professor and Chair, Clements Department of History, SMU
Dallas Hall 337
(214) 7682709
agraybill@smu.edu
Peter Hays Gries Professor of Chinese Politics, University of Manchester
peter.gries@manchester.ac.uk
Kenneth Hamilton  Associate Professor & Director of Ethnic Studies, SMU Clements 315
(214) 768-3598
kmarvin@smu.edu
Christopher H. Hanna Alan D. Feld Endowed Professor of Law and Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor, SMU
(214) 768-4394
channa@mail.smu.edu
Karl Ho Associate Program Head, Social Data Analytics and Research, Clinical Associate Professor at University of Texas at Dallas

Erin Hochman  Associate Professor of Modern German and European History, SMU
Dallas Hall Room 64
(214) 768-3971
ehochman@mail.smu.edu
Jennifer Holmes Interim Dean, School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences, Professor of Political Science, Public Policy and Political Economy, UTD

972-883-6843
jholmes@utdallas.edu
Robert Hunt Professor & Director of Global Theological Education, SMU
(214) 768-1374
roberth@smu.edu
Christopher Jenks Director of the Criminal Justice Clinic and Assistant Professor of Law, SMU
(214) 768-4915
cjenks@smu.edu
Calvin Jillson  Professor of Political Science, SMU Carr Collins 214
(214) 768-4321
cjillson@smu.edu
Rita Kirk Professor & William F. May Endowed Director of the Cary M. Maguire Center for Ethics & Public Responsibility, SMU McFarlin Auditorium 100
(214) 768-2123
rkirk@smu.edu
Brad Klein  Associate Director, Embrey Human Rights Program, SMU
214-768-3241
kleinb@smu.edu
Thomas J. Knock  Associate Professor of History, SMU Dallas Hall 59
(214) 768-2972
tknock@smu.edu
Mike Lusztig  Professor of Political Science, SMU Carr Collins 204
(214) 768-3530
mlusztig@mail.smu.edu
Simon Mak Professor of Practice in Entrepreneurship and Associate Director, Caruth Institute for Entrepreneurship, SMU
(214) 768-3326
smak@smu.edu
Luigi Manzetti  Associate Professor of Political Science, SMU Carr Collins
(214) 768-4366
lmanzett@smu.edu
Daniel Nuckols John T. Jones Chair of Economics, Austin College
DNuckols@austincollege.edu
Dayna Oscherwitz  Associate Professor of French and Francophone Studies, SMU

(214) 768-4355
oscherwi@smu.edu
Andrew Quicksall J. Lindsay Embrey Trustee Assistant Professor of Engineering, SMU
(214) 768-7650
aquicksall@smu.edu
Justin Reeves  Assistant Professor of Political Science, SMU
617-495-1890
jfreeves@smu.edu
Edward T. Rincón President, Rincón & Associates LLC
(214) 750-3800
edward@rinconassoc.com
Santanu Roy  Professor and Chair, Department of Economics, SMU 3300 Dyer Street | Dallas, TX
(214) 768-2714
sroy@smu.edu
Idean Salehyan Associate Professor of Political Science, University of Texas at Dallas
(940) 565-2317
idean@unt.edu
Ling Shiao  Assistant Professor of History, SMU Dallas Hall Room 63
(214) 768-3683
lshiao@mail.smu.edu
Mark Skorick Research Associate at the Tower Center
972-860-4386
mSkorick@dcccd.edu
Mary Spector Associate Dean for Clinics, Director of the Civil/Consumer Clinic and Professor of Law

(214) 768-2578
mspector
Michael Strausz Assistant Professor of Political Science, Texas Christian University TCU Box 297021
(817) 257-6403
michael.strausz@tcu.edu
Brian W. Stump  Albritton Professor of Earth Sciences, SMU
(214) 768-1223
stump@mail.isem.smu.edu
Sandy Thatcher Associate, John G. Tower Center for Public Policy and International Affairs
sgt3@psu.edu
Lembe Tiky Assistant Professor in Residence, University of Connecticut at Storrs
lembe.tiky@gmail.com
Jenia Turner Amy Abboud Ware Centennial Professor in Criminal Law

(214) 768-4036
jenia@smu.edu
Bud Weinstein Associate Director of the Maguire Energy Institute, SMU
(214) 768-2993
bweinstein@cox.smu.edu
Peter Winship James Cleo Thompson Sr. Trustee Professor of Law, SMU
(214) 768-2575
pwinship@mail.smu.edu