Ten Dallas County Students Awarded Full-Tuition Scholarships to SMU

“These scholarships can be life-changing for the recipients, and bring such amazing students to our campus.”

Pony Up to SMU Mustang Scholarships! Pictured are SMU Dean of Admission Elena Hicks, Mustang Scholarship recipients Ephraim Sun, Jorge Vazquez and SMU Senior Associate Director of Admission Rod Jackson.

DALLAS (SMU) – With balloons and plenty of red and blue swag in hand, members of the SMU admission team waited on a recent morning in March in the teacher’s lounge at Dallas ISD’s Townview Science and Engineering School for a surprise presentation. When seniors Ephraim Sun and Jorge Vazquez opened the door, Rod Jackson and Dean of Admission Elena Hicks delivered the news that the high school seniors have been awarded Dallas County Mustang Scholarships, which cover full SMU tuition and fees for four years.

Sun and Vazquez are among ten students from across Dallas County who have received Mustang Scholarship offers from SMU. Other scholarship winners include Carah Ke'Shona Allen, Cedar Hill High School; Stella Barrera, Nimitz High School; Christopher Leonard Degrate, Jr., Kimball High School; Elizabeth Larez, Lancaster High School; Jessica Long, Grand Prairie High School; Maria Murad, Bryan Adams High School; Diya Patel, North Mesquite High School and Paul Rowe, MacArthur High School.

“This is one of the moments we look forward to all year long,” said Jackson, SMU senior associate director of admission. “These scholarships can be life-changing for the recipients, and bring such amazing students to our campus.”  

SMU’s Dallas County Mustang Scholarship is awarded each year to 10 students who attend Dallas County high schools and meet these criteria.

  • Graduation from a public, private or charter high school located in Dallas County (Texas)
  • Admission into SMU for the fall semester following high school graduation
  • Texas residency
  • Verified Pell Grant eligibility as defined by a FAFSA or the equivalent demonstrated need as defined by the TASFA
  • Priority given to students with a cumulative “A” average (3.500 GPA) in grades 9-12