Brian Stump Selected for TexNet Committee

DALLAS (SMU) – Gov. Greg Abbott has named SMU seismologist Brian Stump as chair of the TexNet Technical Advisory Committee, which is charged with providing oversight and advice on the operation of the Texas wide seismic network, TexNet.  


Research by scientists in SMU’s Roy H. Huffington Department of Earth Sciences and the University of Texas at Austin pioneered the connections between high-volume injection wells used to dispose of oil and gas wastewater and the spate of earthquakes that occurred in North Texas. Those earthquakes first started in 2008, and by 2017, more than 1,600 earthquakes of magnitude 1 or greater were recorded.  
Stump, Albritton Chair of Geological Sciences in the Huffington Department of Earth Sciences in SMU’s Dedman College, is one of eight people who was appointed by Abbott to the TexNet Technical Advisory Committee. Read more here.
About SMU
SMU is the nationally ranked global research university in the dynamic city of Dallas. SMU’s alumni, faculty and nearly 12,000 students in eight degree-granting schools demonstrate an entrepreneurial spirit as they lead change in their professions, communities and the world.