Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs

The Division of Student Affairs creates and supports a robust student experience and forges strategic partnerships to best serve the entire SMU community. As educators and scholar-practitioners, we create purposeful learning and leadership opportunities for students to clarify and develop their knowledge, values, skills, and identities - challenging each to become a world changer.

Vice President for Student Affairs and Leadership Team



Photo of Dr. K.C. Mmeje

Dr. K.C. Mmeje

Vice President for Student Affairs
Dr. Mindy Sutton, Associate VP and Dean of Students

Dr. Mindy Sutton

Associate Vice President & Dean of Students
Dr. Aramis Watson

Dr. Aramis Watson

Dean of Residence Life and Student Housing
Portrait of Dr. Dawn F. Norris

Dr. Dawn F. Norris

Chief of Staff
Portrait of Dr. Jennifer JJ Jones

Dr. Jennifer "JJ" Jones

Executive Director for Student Development and Director of Social Change & Intercultural Engagement

Rev. Lisa Garvin

Chaplain and Minister to the University
Dr. Crystal Clayton, Executive Director of Hegi Family Career Development Center

Dr. Crystal Clayton

Executive Director of the Hegi Family Career Development Center
Nan Gunter

Nan Gunter

Executive Assistance to the Vice President for Student Affairs
Julius Mwangi

Julius Mwangi

Senior Finance and Business Manager for Student Affairs

One student is selected each year to serve as the Student Member of the Board of Trustees (Student Trustee), a full voting member of the Board. Eight other students are also selected to serve as Student Members of the Board Standing Committees.

The Vice President for Student Affairs Student Advisory Board provides feedback and student perspective to the Vice President for Student Affairs on critical issues impacting student life that may arise during the course of an academic year.

The Diversity Officer for Student Affairs serves as a counsel and a resource to the Vice President for Student Affairs regarding issues of diversity and inclusion. They serve as the lead trainer of the CIQ@SMU curriculum for Student Affairs and student organizations.

The Learning Domains

All programs and services within our division promote or facilitate student learning. We have developed six learning domains spanning each area of learning: cognitive (knowledge), affective (attitudes and beliefs), and psychomotor (skills and abilities).


Learn More About Our Strategic Plan

Cultivating Courageous Change


Contact Us

Office Hours:
Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Phone: 214-768-2821 Email:

Physical Address:
Perkins Administration Building
6425 Boaz Street, Suite 203
Dallas, TX 75205

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 750471
Dallas, TX 75275

Student Affairs Newsstand

Read More