Office of Information Technology

Academic Technology Service Staff

Academic Technology Service Directors

The Academic Technology Service Directors (ATSD) serve as the primary directors and strategic technology partners to each academic unit to ensure that each school’s faculty and student technology needs are served and fulfilled by the Office of Information Technology.

While specializing in the differential teaching and research solutions relevant to each academic area, this team of embedded technology leaders advocate for the academic unit, support the university and work to integrate academic outcomes through SMU's shared technology platforms.

Academic Technology Service Directors:

  • Provide primary support and consultation for Canvas, Zoom, Qualtrics and other campus eLearning systems and tools
  • Assist with basic instructional design and online course-building
  • Consult on the integration and application of technology toward realizing instructional and research objectives
  • Support discipline-specific technology solutions
  • Lead small to large-scale technology projects, initiatives and pilot programs
  • Collaborate with faculty, staff and leadership to develop annual, unit-specific technology strategies
  • Survey students and faculty annually to understand and to meet technology needs
  • Ensure that SMU IT services are well-aligned with academic objectives and outcomes
  • Inspire and innovate with imaginative and future-forward technology solutions which stimulate teaching and research opportunities

The Directors

James Pan

James H. Pan

Perkins School of Theology & Dedman School of Law

pan@smu.edu | 214.768.1820

Jeff Liew

Jeff Liew

Cox School of Business

jliew@smu.edu | 214.768.4770

Jennifer Culver

Jennifer Culver, Ph.D.

Simmons School of Education and Human Development

jlculver@smu.edu | 214.768.4864

Levi Sterling

Levi Sterling

The Guildhall at SMU

ltsterling@smu.edu | 972.473.3528

Merlin Wilkerson

Merlin Wilkerson

Lyle School of Engineering

merlin@smu.edu | 214.768.8649

Michael Robertson

Michael Robertson, Ph.D.

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

robertsonm@smu.edu | 214.768.1148

Mousumi Tanha

Mousumi Tanha

Meadows School of Arts

mtanha@smu.edu | 214.768.2548

Toni Nolen

Toni Nolen

Head of Systems

tnolen@smu.edu | 214.768.3666

Academic Technology Operations

Academic Technology Operations serves to manage SMU’s collective stack of course management and eLearning technology systems. Anchored by Canvas, SMU’s instructional technology systems (e.g. Zoom, Turnitin, EvaluationKit, Kaltura, LTI’s, etc.) depend upon steady administration and integration in order to best enable the spectrum of courses and programs they serve. OIT’s Academic Technology Operations group ensures that SMU’s instructional systems function to maximize instructional experiences.

Cassidy Porter

Cassidy Porter

Course Management & eLearning Systems Manager

ccporter@smu.edu | 214.768.4382

Graeme Varga

Graeme Varga

Academic Technology Services Director for SMU Global & Online

nvarga@smu.edu | 214.768.1029

Steve Snider

Steve Snider

Course Management & eLearning Solutions Specialist

ssnider@smu.edu | 214.768.1879

Research Technology Services

The Research Technology Services team works closely with SMU’s academic and research communities to scope technology needs and to provide consultation and innovation solutions that support SMU’s goals of ascending research excellence.

Eric Godat

Eric Godat

Data Science Application Developer

egodat@smu.edu | 214.768.2000

Guillermo G. Vasquez

Guillermo G. Vasquez

Linux & Research Computing Support Specialist

guillermov@smu.edu | 214.768.2859

OPEN POSITION

OPEN POSITION

IoT Application Developer

cuser@smu.edu | 214.768.2000


High Performance Computing Team

Leadership

  • Dr. Tom Hagstrom (CSC)
  • Allen Hughes (OIT)

Faculty/Project Consultants

  • Dr. Rob Kalescky (CSC)
  • OIT HPC Consultant (Open Position)

Operations & Consulting

  • Amit Kumar
  • Richard England

Our specialists can help evaluate your technology needs and identify the appropriate solution. Request a consultation today.

Request Consultation