2013 Archives

Five honorary doctorates, 1,500 degrees awarded on SMU’s main quad

'Class of 2013, the best of your life is yet to come, and you are ready!'

The Class of 2013

Watch highlights from May 2013 commencement.

See the Slide Shows

Baccalaureate 2013
Commencement 2013

Watch former U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison's address.

Students' Stories

Invitation via Facebook

Junghyun ParkThis was a big week for Junghyun Park, who received her Ph.D. in geophysics from SMU at Saturday’s Commencement Convocation.  But it’s going to take a lot of excitement to top the events of April 26. That was the day after the George W. Bush Presidential Center was dedicated on the SMU campus.  But it’s also the day Park met with Lee Myung-bak, until very recently the president of her home country of South Korea. She had reached out to President Lee Myung-bak via Facebook. Read more . . .

Exemplifying the American Dream

Roza EssawIf ever there was an SMU family living the American dream, it's the Essaws of Wylie, who moved to this country 12 years ago after seeking political asylum from Ethiopia. And this is their month to celebrate. At Saturday's Commencement, dynamic SMU student Roza Essaw, received three degrees with summa cum laude honors, and her mother, father and sister are earning their own degrees at other nearby universities in May. Read more . . .

May 21, 2013

DALLAS (SMU) – Former U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison delivered the commencement address and received an honorary degree at SMU’s Spring 2013 Commencement Convocation on Saturday. 

Hutchison spoke about entrepreneurial spirit and a "can-do" attitude as important legacies from the graduates' time at SMU:  "Class of 2013, the best of your life is yet to come, and you are ready!" (Read the text of her speech.)

“Now for those of us out in the world already, it is on our shoulders to solve today’s immediate problems and it is our job to make sure you know what made America the greatest nation on Earth,” Hutchison said.  “The Cliff Notes for this answer are this: It is the can-do spirit of resilience and creativity.”

“SMU is an entrepreneurial university in an entrepreneurial city,” she continued. “It represents the can-do spirit, the we-can-do-anything mentality that has been your experience to take with you into your career and guide you through the mine-fields of life.”

President R. Gerald Turner conferred approximately 1,500 undergraduate and graduate degrees upon students from all of SMU’s schools and professional programs.  This year’s spring ceremony fell midway through the University’s centennial celebration, which marks the university’s founding in 1911 and its opening in 1915.

The ceremony was staged in front of SMU’s first building - Dallas Hall - on the historic Main Quad.   Against a campus backdrop of oak trees and red brick buildings, students and faculty marched to the quad in their academic regalia, accompanied by processional music.  

“Commencement allows us to celebrate our SMU graduates’ achievements and look forward with them to the future. By awarding honorary degrees, we also recognize individuals who have made important contributions to academia and society,” said SMU President R. Gerald Turner.  “Commencement is one of our most cherished Hilltop traditions, and this year’s outdoor ceremony will be particularly memorable.”  

In addition to  Hutchison, a technology entrepreneur, a former U.S. ambassador, a distinguished scholar and a criminal justice reform activist also received honorary degrees for distinguished contributions in their fields. The honorary degree recipients were:

  • James R. BiardJames Robert (Bob) Biard received the degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa, for his outstanding contributions in the field of optoelectronics. Biard received the world’s first patent for the light emitting diode (LED), now ubiquitous in devices ranging from digital clocks and remote controls to television screens and traffic lights.   He holds more than 75 patents for his inventions.  Biard is an adjunct professor of electrical engineering at Texas A&M.
  • Swanee HuntSwanee Hunt received the degree of Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa, for her efforts toward world peace and gender parity. Hunt was ambassador to Austria during the Balkan War and helped host programs aimed at stabilizing the neighboring Balkan states. She is founder and president of the Institute for Inclusive Security, which trains women peace builders around the globe. She also is a lecturer in public policy at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.
  • Kay Bailey HutchisonKay Bailey Hutchison received the degree of Doctor of Engineering, honoris causa, for her distinguished career in public service and support of higher education. Hutchison is the first woman to represent Texas in the United States Senate, serving from 1993 to 2012. During her years in the Senate, she expanded higher education opportunities for thousands of Texans and championed advancements in science, technology, engineering and math education. Hutchison helped bring to SMU more than $20 million in federal research funds.
  • Francis Christopher OakleyFrancis Christopher Oakley received the degree of Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa, for his distinguished contributions to higher education as a scholar and administrator. Oakley is the Edward Dorr Griffin Professor of the History of Ideas and president emeritus of Williams College, where he led establishment of the tutorial form of instruction. He has written 13 books and served as president of the American Council of Learned Societies.
  • Bryan A. StevensonBryan A. Stevenson received the degree of Doctor of Humane Letters, honoris causa, for his efforts to achieve social equity through criminal justice reform. Stevenson is the founder and executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative, which provides legal representation to indigent defendants and prisoners who have been denied fair treatment in the legal system. Stevenson also is a professor of clinical law at New York University School of Law.

In addition, nine retiring faculty members were recognized during Saturday's Commencement Convocation:

  • William Beauchamp, Associate Professor of French in Dedman College
  • David Blackwell, the William B. Hamilton Chair in Earth Sciences in Dedman College
  • Robert C. Davis, Associate Professor of Mathematics in Dedman College
  • Margaret (Maggie) H. Dunham is Professor of Computer Science and Engineering in Lyle School of Engineering 
  • Charles (Charley) Helfert, Associate Professor of Theatre in Meadows School of the Arts
  • Robin W. Lovin, the Cary M. Maguire University Professor of Ethics and former dean of Perkins School of Theology
  • Bijan Mohraz, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering in Lyle School of Engineering.
  • Laurence (Larry) Scholder, Professor of Art in Meadows School of the Arts
  • Linda Brewster Stearns, Professor of Sociology in Dedman College

The Rotunda Recessional was held Friday evening and followed the Baccalaureate Service, where United Methodist Bishop Michael McKee was the speaker. Undergraduate candidates, led by faculty and alumni marshals, marched through the front doors of Dallas Hall, through the Rotunda and around to the University's main quad. This tradition welcomes graduates into their new phase of membership of the SMU community - their life as alumni.

Click here for more information about May Commencement Weekend.

# # #

SMU is a nationally ranked private university in Dallas founded 100 years ago. Today, SMU enrolls nearly 11,000 students who benefit from the academic opportunities and international reach of seven degree-granting schools.



Find an Expert