Give Now

2012 Archives

SMU students take top national and global honors

June 1, 2012

SMU students who excel in their areas of study often receive some of the world’s most prestigious fellowships and awards, providing them with meaningful research opportunities and life experiences. Learn more about SMU's Office of National Fellowships and Awards.

Those who earned such recognitions during the 2011-12 academic year include:

Fulbright Grant

Megan Bond Hinrichsen, an SMU Dedman College graduate student in anthropology, has been awarded a prestigious Fulbright Grant to conduct research in South America at the academic intersection of medical anthropology, globalization and development. Read more.

Boren Scholarship

Lade Obamehinti has been awarded a Boren Scholarship to study in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania, during summer 2012. She will be taking an intensive Swahili language and culture course at the University of Dar Es Salaam while doing a mechanical engineering internship, also at the university. Read more.

Laura Bush Traveling Fellowship
and U.S. State Department Internship

Saira Husain spent 10 weeks this spring in Washington, D.C., with the U.S. State Department as an intern in the Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor. She plans to go to Pakistan during 2012 to conduct research on the health of Afghani refugee children in Pakistan. Read more.

French Government Teaching Assistantships

Two SMU 2012 graduates — Jose Ramon Campos and Sanaz Talaifar — have received French Government Teaching Assistant positions to teach English in France this fall. Read more.

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarships

Marcial Sanchez of the Lyle School of Engineering and Mayra Pratz of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences are studying abroad this summer after winning Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarships. Read more.

American Advertising Federation (AAF) ADDY Awards

Students at the Temerlin Advertising Institute at SMU’s Meadows School of the Arts won multiple honors in the Student category of the annual American Advertising Federation (AAF) ADDY Awards local competition. Read more.

Society of Professional Journalists Awards

SMU journalism students won three awards, including two first-place certificates, at the Society of Professional Journalists’ Region 8 Mark of Excellence Award ceremonies. Read more.

2011 Conference USA All-Academic Team

SMU senior tackle Kelvin Beachum has been named to the 2011 Conference USA All-Academic Team, as selected by the league's Sports Information Directors. Read more.

NSCAA Scholar-Athlete All-America First Team

SMU men's soccer player Diogo de Almeida has been named to the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Scholar-Athlete All-America first team. Additionally, senior captain Adam Still was named honorable mention Scholar All-South Region. Read more.