Give Now

2012 Archives

SMU Athletic Hall of Fame inducts six new athletes


The following story ran in the March 6, 2012, edition of the SMU Daily Campus.

March 19, 2012

By Brooke Williamson

The newest class in the SMU Athletic Hall of Fame has been released and includes six standout former athletes who have made a notable impact on athletics at SMU.
Among the inductees are Karlin Kennedy Bricknell, E.O. "Doc Hayes, Louie Kelcher, George McMillion, Richey Reneberg and Ira Terrell.
Kelcher, Reneberg and Terrell all hold Southwest Conference Player of the Year titles in different sports. Kelcher, a defensive tackle, received the honor his senior year in 1974 before moving on to the NFL. He received All-Rookie team honors and continued on to be a three-time Pro-Bowler.
Reneberg is a two-time Southwest Conference Player of the year on the tennis courts after receiving NCAA Rookie of the Year in 1985. After his time at SMU he continued to excel going on to win the 1992 U.S. Open Doubles Championship and the 1995 Australian Open Double Championship.
The 1976 Southwest Conference men's basketball Player of the Year title belongs to Terrell. He is still after 36 years the only Mustang to average double-double for three seasons.
Two coaches will be inducted this year into the Hall of Fame. McMillion, known on campus as "Coach Mac" spent close to 30 years working with SMU swimming. Beginning in 1957 as an assistant coach he soon took over the reins as head coach in 1971 until 1988. During his tenure, Coach Mac and the Mustangs appeared in eight consecutive Southwest Conference Championships. Adding to his extensive numbers, Coach Mac coached 78 All-Americans, 15 NCAA Champions, four Olympic medalists and was named Southwest Conference Coach of the Year four times.
From 1947 to 1967 men's basketball was under the direction of Coach Hayes. He passed in 1973 after leading his teams to eight Southwest Conference titles and six NCAA tournament appearances including the 1956 Final Four.
The lone woman on the 2012 inductee list is Kennedy who was a standout basketball player from 1997-2000. The three-time All-WAC first team selection was the 2000 WAC Player of the Year. Kennedy finished her career at SMU as the all-time leader in scoring, rebounding, blocked shots and field goal percentage.
All six new members of the SMU Athletics Hall of Fame will be honored at the induction ceremony on May 18. The Hall of Fame currently celebrates names such as Craig James, Eric Dickerson and Jim Krebs.