Give Now

2012 Archives

SMU Dedman Law students honored for work in natural resources law

July 19, 2012

Six SMU Dedman School of Law students have been honored with more than $65,000 in scholarships and awards for their work in natural resources law.

Recipients include:

  • Brandon Hauver, Ryan Parsley and Eric Hoffman, who were awarded a total of $48,000 in scholarships by the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation. RMMLF awards tuition scholarships to encourage and support well-qualified law students who have the potential to make significant contributions to scholarship in natural resources law.
  • Hauver, Parsley and Jordan Strauss, who received a total of $14,000 from the Energy and Mineral Law Foundation. EMLF is a non-profit educational organization providing information on legal issues related to the energy and mineral industry through workshops, specialty programs, publications and electronic information. 
  • Brandon Duck, who was selected by the Association of International Petroleum Negotiators as a recipient of the 2012 Inaugural AIPN Student Summer Research position, which includes a $5,000 research grant.
  • James Patrick Murphy, who was a winner in AIPN’s 2012 Student Writing Competition for his paper titled “Joint Operating Agreements: Should Elements of the AIPN Model Form International Operating Agreement Influence a New AAPL Joint Operating Agreement?” Murphy has been invited to attend the AIPN 2012 International Conference in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and will have his paper posted on the AIPN website and published in the quarterly AIPN.