Apply  Give Now

2011 Archives

Texas Institute of Letters names winners of 2011 awards


The following is from the April 30, 2011, edition of The Dallas Morning News. C.W. Smith is a creative writing professor at SMU.

May 4, 2011

Staff Writer

The Texas Institute of Letters marked its 75th anniversary this weekend by naming the year’s best books by or about Texans.

Meeting in Dallas, the state’s oldest literary organization honored Jan Reid with its fiction award for Comanche Sundown (TCU Press), a historical novel about Quanah Parker and Bose Ikard.

The nonfiction prize went to Gary Lavergne for  Before Brown: Heman Marion Sweatt, Thurgood Marshall and the Long Road to Justice (University of Texas Press), which looks at the battle to desegregate the UT law school.

 Novelist C.W. Smith, a creative writing professor at Southern Methodist University, received the Lon Tinkle Award for sustained excellence in a literary career.

Read the full story. (You may have to be a Morning News subscriber.)


Find an Expert