M.F.A. in Art

Six Full Scholarships Available

Fall 2024 Application Deadline: 
February 1, 2024

MFA Art admission instructions / Meadows Graduate application

Program Description

The MFA in Art offered by SMU Meadows School of the Arts is a highly selective two-year program preparing artists for professional careers in art. Students who earn the MFA develop a substantial body of artwork and understand the relevant contexts within which artists and their works function. The program is intended as an intensive period of focused study that culminates in the MFA qualifying exhibition at SMU’s Pollock Gallery. 

As a part of the larger urban research university, MFA students are supported in the exploration of a wide range of materials, media, processes and histories across disciplines. SMU provides graduate students with individual studio spaces and access to facilities for and faculty expertise in ceramics, drawing, installation, new media, painting, performance, photography, printmaking, sculpture, sound, and time-based media. The Division of Art embraces and celebrates human diversity in all its forms, including race, color, religion, national origin, age, disability, genetic information, veteran status, sexual orientation or gender identity and expression.

In addition to faculty actively engaged in exhibition and research at the highest levels, SMU’s Division of Art hosts an ongoing series of lectures, panels and studio visits by artists, critics and curators. This series of events, is a crucial part of the graduate and undergraduate curricula and provides a venue for graduate students and the Dallas community at large to engage with contemporary art.

SMU’s policies and procedures related to COVID-19 can be seen here.


SMU offers up to six full scholarships, covering full tuition and all related fees each year, supplemented by teaching assistantships. Additional funds are available for materials and travel related to students’ creative research.

Selected Past Visiting Artists

Glenn Adamson, William Bailey, Ute Meta Bauer, Jake Berthot, Walead Beshty, Mel Bochner, Tania Bruguera, Suzanna Coffey, Tony Cruz, David Diao, Nicole Eisenman, Theaster Gates, Surabhi Ghosh, Renée Green, K8 Hardy, Dave Hickey, Ann Van Hoey, Denzil Hurley, Jessica Jackson Hutchins, Alfredo Jaar, Guillermo Kuitca, Barbara Kruger, Pablo Leon de La Barra, Jacob Lawrence, An Te Liu, Melissa Miller, Simonetta Moro, Ron Nagle, Thomas Nozkowski, Robyn O’Neil, Mariko Paterson, Signé Pierce, R.H. Quaytman, Walid Raad, Jock Reynolds, Susan Rothenberg, Robert Rauschenberg, Richard Ryan, Franklin Sirmans, Nyugen Smith, Jenni Sorkin, Wendy Steiner, Maiko Sugano, Holly Walker, Neil Welliver, Betty Woodman, and Akira Yamaguchi. 

Dallas Arts District

Dallas continues to invest in the largest arts district in the country, located a few minutes from campus, in which the Meadows School plays a growing role. The Division of Art seeks artists for graduate studies who wish to participate in the diverse arts opportunities of Dallas-Fort Worth and the North Texas region. See list of DFW art spaces, organizations, institutions here.

See profiles of current MFA graduate students, Art faculty, and Art History faculty.

For more information contact: Director of Graduate Admissions, Joe Hoselton, hoselton@smu.edu  / 214 768 3765



Spotlight on Meadows MFA Art Student Juan Alberto Negroni



Spotlight on Meadows MFA Art Student Marwa Benhalim



Spotlight on Meadows MFA Art Student Daniel Bertalot



Spotlight on Meadows MFA Art Student Andy Davis



Spotlight on Meadows MFA Art Student Shelby Meier