Southern Methodist University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award baccalaureate, masters, doctorate, and professional degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Southern Methodist University.

Individual academic programs are accredited by the appropriate national professional associations.  The Edwin L. Cox School of Business is accredited by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. The Dedman School of Law is accredited by the American Bar Association. The Perkins School of Theology is accredited by The Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools.  The Department of Chemistry is accredited by the American Chemical Society. In the Meadows School of the Arts, the divisions of Dance, Music and Theatre are accredited.  Southern Methodist University is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Dance, the National Association of Schools of Music and the National Association of Schools of Theater. Accredited programs in the School of Education and Human Development include the Teacher Education undergraduate and graduate certificate programs, which are accredited by the State Board of Educator Certification (SBEC) and the Texas Education Agency (TEA), and the Learning Therapist Certificate program which is accredited by the International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council.

School of Engineering undergraduate programs in civil engineering, computer engineering, electrical engineering, environmental engineering and mechanical engineering are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, Inc., 111 Market Place, Suite 1050, Baltimore, MD 21202-4012 - telephone: (410) 347-7700. The undergraduate computer science program that awards the degree Bachelor of Science (B.S.) is accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET, The undergraduate computer science program that awards the degree Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) is not accredited by a Commission of ABET. ABET does not provide accreditation for the disciplines of environmental science and management science.