The First Helen Warren DeGolyer Triennial Exhibition and American Bookbinding Competition, 1997

The Book of Common Prayer and Administration of the Sacrament and Other Rites and Ceremonies of the Church According to the Use of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States of America, Together with the Psalter or Psalms of David [Boston]: Printed for the Commission, 1928 [issued 1930]. xli, 611 pp. ; 36 cm. Five hundred paper copies and twelve vellum copies printed by Daniel Berkeley Updike. Vellum. Bridwell Library Special Collections.

In 1927 the Episcopal Church in America sponsored a competition to design this book. Bruce Rogers, Daniel Berkeley Updike, Oxford University Press, and Cambridge University Press competed, and Updike was awarded the commission. He printed the work at his Merrymount Press in Boston. Coordination of the project was the responsibility of the Commission for the Textual Revision of the Standard Book of Prayer, but the details of the work, including the choice of printer and editorial tasks, were carried out by the librarian of the Pierpont Morgan Library, Bella da Costa Green. J.P. Morgan, Jr., whose father had supported the revision of the Prayer Book of 1892, agreed to subvent all publication costs and arrange distribution.

Don Etherington
Winner: 1997 DeGolyer Award for American Bookbinding

Jamie Kamph
Honorable Mention for
Design and Binding

Marky Miles
Honorable Mention for Design

Eleanore E. Ramsey
Honorable Mention for Binding

Peter and Donna Thomas
Craft Guild of Dallas Special Mention
for Innovative Design
Dorothy Westapher
Craft Guild of Dallas Special Mention
for Design
David Borbeau
Craft Guild of Dallas Special Mention
for Technical Innovation

Gabrielle Fox Butler Barbara Ann Caine Gary Frost Scott Kellar Pamela Train Leutz

Richard Minsky William Minter Brenda Parsons Jarmila Jelena Sobotova Joanne Sonnichsen

Priscilla A. Spitler Cris Clair Takacs Judith Thompson Laura Wait James Wiley