Archives of the South Central Jurisdiction

The South Central Jurisdiction (SCJ) is an administrative unit of the United Methodist Church composed of all Annual Conferences in Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. The SCJ was formed in 1939 with the creation of the Methodist Church. Following the organization of the United Methodist Church in 1968, the SCJ grew to include former Central Jurisdiction (African American) charges. A Jurisdictional Conference is held every four years. Between those sessions the SCJ is governed by a Mission Council consisting of a representative from each Annual Conference.

The library of the SMU School of Theology was designated the official depository for the jurisdiction’s business records on December 11, 1940. The Archives of the SCJ currently measure 130 linear feet of records and publications generated by jurisdictional boards, agencies, and administrators.