LEED Certifications

Image of LEED Award

Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification is a voluntary rating system for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings. Developed by the U.S. Green Building Council, LEED provides building owners and operators a concise framework for identifying and implementing practical and measurable green building design, construction, operations, and maintenance solutions.

Since its inception in 1998, LEED has evolved through three versions to more accurately represent and incorporate emerging green building technologies.

Today, LEED consists of a suite of nine rating systems across five major categories: Sustainable Sites, Water Efficiency, Energy and Atmosphere, Materials and Resources, and Indoor Environmental Quality. Additional points can be assigned for Innovation in Design and Regional Priority.

Read more information about LEED certification here.

LEED Certified Buildings - SMU Main Campus:

LEED Certified Buildings - SMU-in-Taos Campus:

LEED Certified Interior - SMU Main Campus: