SMU Facts

SMU Facts

Prominent SMU Alumni

SMU has approximately 110,000 alumni worldwide. About 60,000 live in Texas, with nearly 40,000 alumni living in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. Notable alumni include:

Public Service

  • Laura Bush, former First Lady of Texas and the United States
  • William P. Clements, Jr., former Texas governor and Deputy Secretary of Defense (deceased)
  • Antonio O. Garza, Jr., former U.S. Ambassador to Mexico
  • U.S. House of Representatives members John Culberson, Ralph Hall, Sam Johnson, Eddie Bernice Johnson and Lamar Smith
  • Dr. Robert Haley, medical researcher who defined Gulf War Syndrome
  • Roy M. Huffington, former U.S. Ambassador to Austria (deceased)
  • Karen Hughes, former Under Secretary of State for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs
  • Air Force General Craig R. McKinley, member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
  • Harriet Miers, former Counsel to President George W. Bush
  • Jeanne L. Phillips, former U.S. Representative to the Paris-based Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
  • R. Richard Rubottom, former Assistant Secretary of State for Inter-American Affairs and Ambassador to Argentina (deceased)
  • Rick Scott, governor of Florida
  • John G. Tower, former U.S. senator (deceased)

Science and Education

  • Nobel Prize-winning physicist James Cronin
  • Computer memory pioneer Robert Dennard
  • Former University of Texas-Austin President Larry R. Faulkner
  • University of North Texas Chancellor Lee Jackson
  • Michael Bunnell, winner of 2010 Scientific and Engineering Oscar award

Performing Arts, Visual Arts and Communication

  • Jane Chu, chair, National Endowment for the Arts
  • Academy Award winners Kathy Bates, actor; William Joyce and James V. Hart, filmmakers; and Ron Judkins, sound.
  • Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Beth Henley
  • Golden Globe-winning actor Regina Taylor
  • Actors Amy Acker ("Person of Interest," "Cabin in the Wood"), Brian Baumgartner ("The Office"), Katie Featherston ("Paranormal Activity"), Belita Moreno ("George Lopez," "Family Ties"), Clarence Gilyard "Die Hard," "Walker Texas Ranger"), Lauren Graham ("Parenthood," "Gilmore Girls"), Patricia Richardson ("Home Improvement," "West Wing"), Stephen Tobolowsky ("Glee," "Groundhog Day")
  • Tony Award-winning actors Michael Aronov, Debra Monk and Scott Waara, and choreographer Andy Blankenbuehler
  • Emmy-winning television producer Aaron Spelling (deceased)
  • Country music singer Jack Ingram
  • Artist John Alexander (MOMA, Smithsonian and more)
  • Parisa Khobdeh, George Smallwood and Michael Trusnovec, dancers, Paul Taylor Dance Company
  • David Bennett, director, San Diego Opera
  • Julie Rieger, EVP marketing, 20th Century Fox
  • Marc Patrick, VP global golf marketing, Nike


The Master’s degree program in comparative and international law of Dedman School of Law has graduated more than 1,400 lawyers from more than 75 countries. Many have since occupied prominent leadership positions around the world, including:

  • Two Supreme Court Justices in Japan and one in the Philippines
  • President of the Thailand Senate
  • Minister of Justice in Argentina
  • Member of the Brazilian Supreme Court of Accounts


  • Gerald Alley, founder, president and CEO, Con-Real
  • Thaddeus Arroyo, CEO, AT&T Business Solutions and International
  • Amber Venz Box and Baxter Box, founders, rewardStyle and
  • Alex Cruz, chair and CEO, British Airways
  • David Cush, former president and CEO, Virgin America
  • Robert H. Dedman, Jr., president and CEO, DFI Management, Ltd.
  • Martin Flanagan, president and CEO, Invesco Ltd.
  • Ray L. Hunt, executive chair, Hunt Consolidated, Inc.
  • Kevin Lavelle, founder and CEO, Mizzen+Main
  • Kenneth R. Morris, co-founder, PeopleSoft
  • Blake Mycoskie, founder and chief shoe giver, TOMS
  • Melissa Reiff, CEO, The Container Store
  • Edward B. Rust, Jr., chair, State Farm Insurance Companies
  • John Santa Maria, CEO, Coca-Cola Femsa
  • Carl Sewell, chair, Sewell Automotive Companies
  • John Tyson, chair, Tyson Foods
  • Brittany Underwood, founder and president, Akola Project
  • Richard Weekley, co-founder, David Weekley Homes
  • Whitney Wolfe, founder and CEO, Bumble; co-founder, Tinder


  • Olympic gold medal swimmers Lars Frolander, Steve Lundquist, and Ryan Berube; and gold medal track and field athlete Kevin Robinzine
  • Lamar Hunt, founder of the American Football League (deceased)
  • Jim Irsay, owner and CEO, Indianapolis Colts
  • Doak Walker, recipient of football’s Heisman Trophy (deceased)
  • Payne Stewart, championship golfer (deceased)
  • Pro Football Hall of Fame members Raymond Berry, Eric Dickerson, Forrest Gregg, Lamar Hunt (deceased) and Doak Walker (deceased)
  • Jerry LeVias, National College Football Hall of Fame and NFL Rookie of the Year
  • Rodney Harmon, U.S. Olympic tennis coach
  • James Irsay, owner and CEO, Indianapolis Colts, NFL
  • Clark Hunt, chair of the board, Kansas City Chiefs, NFL