Joseph Camp

Department Chair ad interim

Kenneth Berry

Research Professor

Kevin Brenner

Assistant Professor

Jerome Butler

Jerome Butler

University Distinguished Professor

JC Chiao

J.-C. Chiao

Mary and Richard Templeton Centennial Chair Professor

Carlos Davila

Associate Professor

Bruce Gnade

Clinical Professor

Scott Kingsley

Program Director of Network Engineering
Senior Lecturer

Choon Lee

Choon Lee

Associate Professor

Duncan MacFarlane

Duncan MacFarlane

Associate Dean for Engineering Entrepreneurship
Bobby B. Lyle Centennial Chair in Engineering Entrepreneurship
Professor of Electrical Engineering

Sukumaran Nair

University Distinguished Professor
Director AT&T Center for Virtualization

Dinesh Rajan

Senior Associate Dean

Ron Rohrer

Cecil & Ida Green Chair and Professor

Mitch Thornton

Mitchell Thornton

Cecil H. Green Chair of Engineering,
Executive Director, Darwin Deason Institute for Cybersecurity,
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Name Title
Robert Baumann Visiting Research Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering
Yanbo Chen Visiting Scholar
Luke Graham Visiting Scholar
James Guenter Affiliate Executive in Residence
Chunyi Huang Visiting Research Assistant
Sharif Iqbal Sheikh Visiting Scholar
Bruce Snider Visiting Research Professor of Electrical Engineering and Fellow of Engineering Entrepreneurship
Jiahao Yan Visiting Research Assistant
Linjun Yang Visiting Scholar

Delores Etter

Founding Director, Caruth Institute for Engineering Education
Caruth Professor of Engineering Education
Distinguished Fellow, Darwin Deason Institute for Cyber Security

James Dunham

Associate Professor


Provide external, professional perspective and guidance to ensure that the SMU ECE Department continues to be a provider of internationally recognized engineering leaders. 



  • Support the department in the achievement of its strategic goals.
  • Become an active and positive external spokesperson for the Department.
  • Assist in curriculum development and ABET accreditation.
  • Secure financial, technical and research support for the department

Members of ECE Executive Board

Name Title Company
Solyman Ashrafi SVP & CTO Global Operations Mavenir
Ceená Beall Consultant Boston Consulting Group
Ranjit Bhatia Vice President, Head of Software Sales and Sales Development BA Digital Services (North America), Ericsson
Mark Bigham Chief Innovation Officer Raytheon Intelligence and Information Services
Michael E. Cox Principal Fish & Richardson, P.C.
Kevin Ding Advanced Digital Systems Director Center Point Energy
Yanli Fan Design Manager Texas Instruments
Farooq Khan, Ph.D. R & D Head, Standards/Algorithms, Mobile S/W, RF/Antenna Samsung, Dallas Technology Labs
Sreenivasan Koduri, Ph.D. (Chair) Director, Analog and Power Technology Roadmapping Texas Instruments, Inc.
Ben Kroposki Director, Power Systems Engineering Center Argonne National Laboratory
Giridhar D. Mandyam, Ph.D. Chief Security Architect for all IoT and Automotive Qualcomm
Gil Metzger Director, Advanced Technology Development Lockheed Martin Missiles and Fire Control
Paul Pinsukanjana Vice President Technology/ Business Dev Intelligent Epitaxy Technology, Inc.
Dinesh Rajan Senior Associate Dean Lyle School of Engineering
James Redburn Automation Engineering Team Leader Schneider Electric Energy Solution
Mike Riess Strategic Business Development Manager Intel Architecture Graphics and Software Group, Intel Corporation
Kamakshi Sridhar Vice President Automation Innovation Sandvine
John Treichler, Ph.D. Director and Chief Technology Officer Raytheon Applied Signal Technology
Karthik Vasnath Vice President and General Manager for Data Converter Business Unit Texas Instruments
Harvey Wiggins President and Founder Plexon, Inc.
Jim Womack Senior Director, Advanced Technologies Research in Motion
Sally Wood, Ph.D. Professor Santa Clara University
Charlie Zhang Vice President Samsung Telecommunications of America
Power Zhao, Ph.D., P.E. Senior Manager, Transmission & Distribution Services Oncor