Transformed systems require transformational leadership

District Leadership Fellows 2019-2020

The transition from bureaucratically-defined education systems to dynamic learning organizations requires a new model of leadership development. We work with public school superintendents, independent school leaders, and teachers to develop and sustain effective, transformational leadership practices.

Our educational leadership offerings include year-long fellowships, shorter courses, seminars, and custom solutions tailored to your organization.

District Leadership Fellows Program

“The network is magical because we are so alone in our own district, we can’t really share with anyone else because we are the Lone Ranger.”

–Dr. Darin Jolly
Program Alum

Leaders of school districts occupy complex roles. They're responsible for setting a vision, executing a strategy, and motivating those around them. To help superintendents and executive district leaders enhance their leadership capacity in these areas and beyond, the Institute for Leadership Impact developed the District Leadership Fellows program.  This hybrid in-person and online strengths-based leadership development program enhances the leadership abilities of fellows through an intensive year-long cohort.

Dr. Herron headshot and quote 


  • Receive individual and group coaching 
  • Participate in dynamic in-person and online sessions 
  • Learn from SMU faculty and education experts 
  • Engage with in-house interactive training modules 


  • Enhance your leadership skills 
  • Better align your work with your personal mission 
  • Apply your learning to a real-world challenge in your district 
  • Expand your network and collaborate with a diverse cohort of peers 
Dr. Hernandez headshot and quote 

Applications for the 2023-2024 cohort open in Spring 2023.  Interested in participating in the next cohort?  Contact Christine Ferguson at or 214-768-1073 for more information.

District Partners: Adrian ISD, Anadarko Public Schools, Aubrey ISD, Big Sandy ISD, Brinkley Public Schools, Bryson ISD, Bullard ISD, Canton ISD, Cedar Hill ISD, Central ISD, Chapel Hill ISD (Titus County), Clarksville ISD, Clifton ISD, Community ISD, Crandall ISD, Danbury ISD, Darrouzett ISD, DeKalb ISD, Dodd City ISD, Edgewood ISD (Bexar County), Elkhart ISD, Ennis ISD, Farmington Municipal Schools, Flatonia ISD, Forney ISD, Gainesville ISD, Grand Prairie ISD, Groesbeck ISD, Harleton ISD, Harts Bluff ISD, Hawkins ISD, Henderson ISD, Jefferson ISD, Kennard ISD, Kermit ISD, La Poynor ISD, Lake Worth ISD, Lindale ISD, Livonia Central School District, Lonoke Public School District, Mabank ISD, Marvell-Elaine School District, Maud ISD, Maypearl ISD, Mildred ISD, Mineral Wells ISD, Mount Calm ISD, Mountainburg Public Schools, New Boston ISD, New Diana ISD, New Summerfield ISD, Newport Special School District, North Hopkins ISD, North Texas Collegiate Academy, Paradise ISD, Paris ISD, Pewitt ISD, Providence Public Schools, Quitman ISD, Red Lick ISD, RMA Texas Public Schools, San Jon Municipal Schools, Scurry-Rosser ISD, Seguin ISD, Sulphur Bluff ISD, Sulphur Springs ISD, Throckmorton Collegiate ISD, Union Grove ISD, Van ISD, Wells ISD, Westwood ISD, Whitehouse ISD and Zavalla ISD 

Center for Transformational Leadership

School and Classroom Leadership

The Center for Transformational Leadership (CTL), founded in partnership with Parish Episcopal Schools, provides a suite of flexible learning experiences to unite leaders with common interests.

To learn more and register for courses, visit the Center for Transformational Leadership website.   

Custom Solutions for your Organization

Your goals and challenges are unique. That’s why we don’t offer a one-size-fits-all approach. We work with you to determine the best way to support you and your organization’s work. Our programs include an array of didactic, experiential, individual, and team-based leadership experiences, all tailored to help you create the impact you desire.

To learn more, contact the Institute for Leadership Impact at or 214-768-4539.