Honoring Our Professor's Excellence Banquet

The Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence (HOPE) Banquet provides a unique way to celebrate the hard work and accomplishments of faculty alongside the students who nominated them.

Residence Life and Student Housing (RLSH) believes that it is important to highlight those professors who have gone above and beyond in their role. The HOPE Banquet is an opportunity each spring for students from all residential communities to celebrate faculty excellence and involvement in the student experience at SMU.

Nominate a Professor

Do you have a professor you'd like to nominate for the HOPE Professor of the Year Award? The nomination process is open from January 22, 2024, and will close on February 16, 2024. You can fill out a nomination for a faculty member here.

2023 Prof. Liliana Hickman-Riggs

2022 Prof. Dan L. Lawrence

2021 Prof. Jessica Wickersham

2020 Dr. Jill DeTemple

2019 Dr. Jeffrey Engle

2018 Dr. Alice Kendrick

2017 Dr. Mark Chancey

2016 Dr. Stephen Sekula

2015 Dr. Eric Larson

2014 Dr. Liljana Elverskog





2009 Dr. Wayne Shaw

2008 Dr. Mark Fontenot

2007 Prof. Kelli Herd

2006 Dr. Larry Ruben

2005 Prof. Kelli Herd








Since 1998, more than 650 professors have been recognized by students as HOPE professors. Thirty-one of those professors are considered Distinguished HOPE professors, having been nominated five years or more by student nominators.

Prof. Andrea Adams
Dr. Stephanie Amsel
Dr. Edward Biehl
Prof. Teresa Brentegani
Dr. Mark Chancey
Dr. Michael Connolly
Dr. Shawn Dennis
Dr. Sandra Duhe
Dr. Melissa Dowling
Dr. David Doyle
Dr. Liljana Elverskog
Dr. Mark Fontenot
Prof. Diana Grumbles
Dr. Rick Halperin
Prof. Liliana Hickman-Riggs
Dr. James Hopkins
Prof. Vanessa Hopper
Dr. Yildirim Hurmuzlu
Dr. Alice Kendrick
Prof. Joseph Kobylka
Prof. Michael Lattman
Dr. Bruce Levy
Dr. Glenn Linden
Dr. Michael Lusztig
Dr. Owen Lynch
Prof. Jennifer O'Brien
Prof. Patti Rawlins
Dr. Wayne Shaw
Dr. Stephen Sekula
Prof. Ann Shattles
Dr. Greg Sommers
Dr. David Son
Dr. Tom Stone
Dr. Elizabeth Wheaton
Dr. John Wise
Dr. Patty Wisian-Neilson
Prof. Bruan Zoltowski