Simmons Graduate Council

Simmons Graduate Council

About Us

The Simmons School of Education and Human Development Graduate Council originated in 2011 by student representatives from each department within the Simmons School.

Click here to learn about our Policies and Procedures to apply for funding.

Apply Here

The Council administers funds for graduate student enrichment and professional development projects.   The Council consists of 11 students representing the graduate-level programs at Simmons. 

Application Deadlines

Fall Application Cycle is open September 2 - September 15

Spring Application Cycle is open from January 27 - February 9 

Summer Application Cycle is open from April 20 - May 3 

2019-2020 Meetings

August 30, 2019 January 24, 2020
September 20, 2019 February 14, 2020
October 18, 2019 March 27, 2020
November 15, 2019 April 17, 2020
December 6, 2019 May 8, 2020
                                                                    All meetings are from 9:00am-10:30am

 

 

Your 2019-2020 Representatives

If you have questions e-mail your council representative or you can email Graduate Council directly.

Department

Representative

Email

Position

Counseling & Dispute Resolution Raquel Alcorta ralcorta@smu.edu President
Applied Physiology and Wellness Charise Brown chariseb@smu.edu Vice President 
Ph.D Studies  Devon Lockard dlockard@smu.edu Treasurer
Liberal Studies  Lori Hess-Tolbert lhesstolbert@smu.edu  
Counseling & Dispute Resolution  Carol Rosales rosalesc@smu.edu  
Applied Physiology & Wellness  Parker Richey prichey@smu.edu  

Education Policy & Leadership

Valerie Nelson vlnelson@smu.edu  
Liberal Studies  Emmeline Miles emiles@smu.edu  

Teaching & Learning

Ana Castillo aicastillo@smu.edu 

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Frank Hernandez, Associate Dean, frankh@smu.edu

If you have questions e-mail your council representative or you can email SimmonsGraduateCouncil@smu.edu