Simmons Graduate Council

Simmons Graduate Council

About Us

The Simmons School of Education and Human Development Graduate Council originated in 2011 by student representatives from each department within the Simmons School.

The Council administers funds for graduate student enrichment and professional development projects. The Council consists of one student from each graduate-level program at Simmons. 

Click here to learn about our Policies and Procedures to apply for funding.

Summer Application Cycle is Closed.  

Applications Closed

2017-18 Council Meetings

Friday, August 25, 2017 – 9:00am - 10:30am

Friday, September 29, 2017 – 9:00 - 10:30am

Friday, October 20, 2017 – 9:00 - 10:30am

Friday, November 17, 2017 – 9:00 - 10:30am

Friday, January 19, 2018 - 9:00 - 10:30am

Friday, February 16, 2018 - 9:00-10:30 am

Friday, March 23, 2018 - 9:00-10:30am

Friday, April 20, 2018 - 9:00-10:30am

Friday, May 11, 2018 - 9:00-10:30am

Election Dates for AY 2017-2018 for New Graduate Council Representatives

TBD

Your 2017-2018 Representatives

If you have questions e-mail your council representative or you can email Graduate Council directly.

Department

Representative

Email

Position

Counseling and Dispute Resolution John Whaley  jwhaley@smu.edu President

Applied Physiology and Wellness

Brandt Phillips

btphillips@smu.edu

Vice-President

Education Policy and Leadership

Laurie Gagne

lgagne@smu.edu

Secretary

Ph.D Studies

Anthony Sparks

asparks@smu.edu

Treasurer

Education Policy and Leadership

Karina Siu

ksiu@smu.edu

Internal Communications

Counseling and Dispute Resolution

Carol Rosales

rosalesc@smu.edu

 

Applied Physiology and Wellness

Chris Anders

cranders@smu.edu

 

Liberal Studies

OPEN
 

Liberal Studies

OPEN

Teaching and Learning

OPEN

Teaching and Learning

OPEN

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Sushmita Purkayastha (spurkayastha@smu.edu) and Dr. Angela Mitakidis (amitakidis@smu.edu)

If you have questions e-mail your council representative or you can email SimmonsGraduateCouncil@smu.edu