Maguire Energy Institute

Leadership Team

  • Advisory Board

    The Maguire Energy Institute encourages the study of management, marketing and policy issues related to the energy industry.

    The Institute is guided by a multi-disciplinary Board of Advisors who provide input and support for the the Institute's programs, curricula and annual agenda.

    Advisory Board Members

    • Bobby B. Lyle, Chairman, Board of Advisors, Chairman, President and CEO, Lyco Holdings Incorporated
    • Greg L. Armstrong, Chairman and CEO, Plains All American Pipeline, Inc.
    • Renato T. Bertani, President and CEO, Barra Energia
    • Rhys J. Best, CEO and Chairman, Lone Star Technologies, Retired
    • Pat S. Bolin, Executive Chairman, Eagle Oil & Gas Co.
    • W. Bruce Bullock, Director, Maguire Energy Institute, SMU Cox School of Business
    • Karl R. Butler, President and CEO, ICC Energy Corporation 
    • Josh Camp, President and CEO, Perpetual Production LLC
    • Victor G. Carrillo, Executive Director, Professional Responsibility & Government Relations at International Leadership of Texas
    • William A. Custard, President of Dallas Production Company Inc., Pitts Energy Group
    • Steve Estes, Partner at US Advisory Lead, KPMG
    • Gary C. Evans, Chairman and CEO, EnergyHunter Resources
    • Michael Friezo, CEO, Friezo Loughrey Oil Well Partners, LLC
    • Amb. Antonio Garza (Retired), Counsel, White & Case, Mexico City
    • James A. Gibbs, Chairman, Five States Energy Company, L.L.C.
    • Forrest E. Hoglund, President, Hoglund Interests 
    • Matt Hornbach, Professor of Geophysics, SMU Huffington Dept. of Earth Sciences
    • Albert Hrubetz, President, Hrubetz Oil Company
    • Will Hundley, Vice President, BOK Financial Securities
    • Ray L. Hunt, Chairman, President and CEO, Hunt Consolidated, Inc.
    • Bill Keffer, Professor of Practice and Director of Energy Law, Texas Tech University of Law
    • Michael LaMotte, Senior Management Director, Investment Banking, Guggenheim Partners
    • Kyle Miller, President and CEO, Silver Hill Energy Partners
    • Patrick M. Murray, CEO, Dresser Inc., Retired
    • Matthew Myers, Dean, SMU Cox School of Business
    • Erle A. Nye, Chairman Emeritus, TXU Corporation
    • Joseph Omoworare, Managing Director, Duff & Phelps, LLC
    • Timothy Perry, Managing Partner, Credit Suisse
    • Bryan Sheffield, Managing Partner, Formentera Partners
    • Scott D. Sheffield, Chairman and CEO, Pioneer Natural Resources Company
    • Jeff Shorter, VP of Corporate Development, Gridliance
    • Julio Tamacas, Treasurer, ExxonMobil Exploration Company
    • Xavier Tison, Associate Director, Maguire Energy Institute, SMU Cox School of Business
    • Kumar Venkataraman, James M. Collins Chair in Finance, SMU Cox School of Business
    • Bernard L. Weinstein, Associate Director, Maguire Energy Institute, SMU Cox School of Business
    • James K. Wicklund, Managing Director, Credit Suisse
    • George M. Yates, Chairman and CEO, Heyco Energy Group