Center for Presidential History Book Prize


Congratulations to the winner of the 2023 Center for Presidential History Book Prize:

Fritz Bartel, The Triumph of Broken Promises: The End of the Cold War and the Rise of Neoliberalism (Harvard University Press)

Fritz Bartel is Assistant Professor in the Department of International Affairs at the Bush School of Government & Public Service at Texas A&M University. You can read more about Dr. Bartel's book, and purchase it, from Harvard University Press. In addition to being named the winner of the inaugural annual CPH Book Prize, Dr. Bartel will receive a cash prize honorarium and an invitation to speak at the SMU Center for Presidential History around Presidents' Day 2024.

Dr. Bartel's book emerged as the winner from a crowded and strong field of submissions. Other finalists included:
Susan ColbournEuromissles: The Nuclear Weapons that Nearly Destroyed NATO (Cornell University Press)
Michael VerneyA Great and Rising Nation: Naval Exploration and Global Empire in the Early US Republic (University of Chicago Press)


Coming in Fall of 2023 - Submissions for the 2024 CPH Book Prize
In the Fall of 2023, we will begin accepting submissions for the 2024 CPH Book Prize. The CPH Book Prize is awarded annually for a distinguished book published in English, in any aspect in the field of United States presidential history, broadly defined. The CPH Book Prize was established in 2022 thanks to a generous gift from a supporter of the SMU Center for Presidential History.

The current prize amount is $2,500. The author will receive an invitation to give the annual CPH Book Prize Lecture at Southern Methodist University during the prize calendar year. The CPH will pay all author's travel expenses and deliver the prize at the lecture.

For questions, please contact the prize administrator at