Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award

Nominations and Criteria

The Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award is presented annually to a layperson in the United States who exemplifies an exceptional commitment of service to Christ through faith and action in the church, community and the world. First awarded in 1993, the award has been presented to more than 45 distinguished laypersons throughout the years, and honors Judge Woodrow B. Seals (1917-1990), a distinguished layperson who helped establish the Perkins Theological School for the Laity in 1974. The award receives support from the Howard-Holbert Endowment Fund.

Nominations must include documentation representing the three areas listing above, as well as:

  • A one- to four-page document including a biographical narrative and examples of nominee’s activities showing commitment to Christian service in the church, community and world
  • Three letters of recommendation from clergy and lay leadership of nominee’s congregation and/or denomination, as well as supplemental letters of support from officials in other church or community organizations
  • Contact information for primary sponsor who will serve as the contact for Perkins School of Theology

The person submitting the nomination should compile all nomination materials and mail or email as one package. Selection is made by a committee of the Perkins Lay Advisory Board. Nominations remain active for three years including the year of submission.


Nominations should be submitted by February 15, 2023 to:

The Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award Committee
c/o Associate Dean for External Programs
Perkins School of Theology
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133

Or by email to theoexternalprograms@smu.edu

More Information about the Seals Award and Nominations Criteria (PDF)

Read about the 2020 Seals Laity Award Recipients

List of all Seals Laity Award Recipients