May & Summer 2024 Courses

This course list is tentative and subject to change. The most current list of May and Summer courses is available in my.SMU.  Unless a course is designated ONLINE, it will be offered in-person on the Dallas campus. 

PLEASE NOTE: August Term is administered by the SMU-in-Taos Office.

Search for courses

Search for UC or CC components by entering the acronym for the requirement you’re looking for. Use our UC acronym guide & CC acronym guide to understand these.

Reset filters

Click on a course name to see the course description.

Don't see the course you want? Suggest a course using our Wish List!

Want to see a course syllabus?  Search the syllabus library! 

Course Title Meetings University Curriculum Common Curriculum Session and Dates Faculty Description
ADV 1360Creative ProductionTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Mark Allen
- mjallen@smu.edu
ADV 4364Publication DesignTBDJune B,
June 18 – July 2, 2024
Mark Allen
- mjallen@smu.edu
ASPH 1300Intro to PhotographyTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Olivia Arratia
- oarratia@smu.edu
ASPH 1300Intro to PhotographyTBDJuly A,
July 8 – July 22, 2024
Olivia Arratia
- oarratia@smu.edu
HIST 3389Problems in Middle Eastern HistoryTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Sabri Ates
- sates@smu.edu
THEA 2311Art of ActingTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Reiko Aylesworth
- raylesworth@mail.smu.edu
PHYS 1304Introduction to Electricity and MagnetismTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Durdana Balakishiyeva
- dbalakishiyeva@smu.edu
ME 4322VibrationsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Yelena Borzova
- eborzova@mail.smu.edu
WGST 2322Gender: Images & PerspectiveTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Katharine Boswell
- kboswell@smu.edu
APSM 3372Advance Public Relations in SportTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Sarah Brown
- smbrown@smu.edu
RELI 1304Introduction to Western ReligionsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Mark Chancey
- mchancey@smu.edu
CEE 5000Circular Economy: Sustainability in the Construction SectorTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Purva Chawla Christopher Hill
- cpurva@smu.edu; christopherhill@mail.smu.edu
PHIL 1305Introduction to PhilosophyTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Philippe Chuard
- pchuard@smu.edu
OREM 2375Cultural and Ethical Implications of TechnologyTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Gretchen Coleman
- gmiller@lyle.smu.edu
PLSC 4331Law & FilmTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Pamela Corley
- pccorley@smu.edu
PHYS 1301Ideas of Modern PhysicsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Simon Dalley
- sdalley@smu.edu
ASPR 1300Introduction to PrintmakingTBDJune B,
June 18 – July 2, 2024
Jer'Lisa Devezin
- jdevezin@smu.edu
ASPR 1300Introduction to PrintmakingTBDJuly B,
July 23 – August 6, 2024
Jer'Lisa Devezin
- jdevezin@smu.edu
WL 3375Introduction to PsycholinguisticsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Susana Fernandez Solera Adoboe
- adoboe@smu.edu
PHIL 1319Technology, Society and ValueTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Justin Fisher
- fisher@smu.edu
WL 3390Italian CinemaTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Daniele Forlino
- dforlino@smu.edu
WL 3381The Greco-Roman World in Literature and FilmTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Justin Germain
- jgermain@smu.edu
HIST 3311The Nineteenth-Century American WestTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Andrew Graybill
- agraybill@smu.edu
HIST 3309North American Environmental HistoryTBDJune B,
June 18 – July 2, 2024
Andrew Graybill
- agraybill@smu.edu
FILM 2362Diversity and American Film/MediaTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Sean Griffin
- spgriffi@mail.smu.edu
ARHS 1359ImpressionismTBDJuly A,
July 8 – July 22, 2024
Randall Griffin
- Randallg@smu.edu
BIOL 1101Introductory Biology LabTBDJune B,
June 18 – July 2, 2024
Carolyn Harrod
- charrod@smu.edu
ARHS 1308Epic of Latin AmericaTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Adam Herring
- aherring@smu.edu
ARHS 1308Introduction to World ArchitectureTBDJuly A,
July 8 – July 22, 2024
Adam Herring
- aherring@smu.edu
ARHS 3301Art and Experience in Inca PeruTBDJuly B,
July 23 – August 6, 2024
Adam Herring
- aherring@smu.edu
PSYC 3341Social PsychologyTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Nathan Hudson
- nwhudson@smu.edu
CISB 4397Entrepreneurship Starting A BusinessTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Patricia Kriska
- elainak2@yahoo.com
ARHS 1304Introduction to Western Art IITBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Jennifer Laffick
- jlaffick@smu.edu
ARHS 3310War, Looting, and Collecting of Ancient ArtTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Stephanie Langin-Hooper
- langinhooper@smu.edu
ARHS 1300From Mummies to Gladiators: Art of the Ancient Mediterranean and Ancient Middle EastTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Stephanie Langin-Hooper
- langinhooper@smu.edu
PLSC 3383American Foreign PolicyTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
LaiYee Leong
- lleong@smu.edu
ENGL 1365Literature of MinoritiesTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Bruce Levy
- blevy@smu.edu
RELI 1303Intro to Asian ReligionsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Steven Lindquist
- slindqui@smu.edu
PSYC 1300Introduction to PsychologyTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Michael Lindsey
- lindseym@smu.edu
PSYC 3366Positive PsychologyTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Chris Logan
- chrisl@smu.edu
PHIL 3323Philosophy of Psychology and NeuroscienceTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Jennifer Matey
- jmatey@smu.edu
ENGL 1380Introduction to LiteratureTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Russell McConnell
- rhmcconnell@smu.edu
HIST 2337History of US SportsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Alexis McCrossen
- amccross@smu.edu
HIST 2337US Sports HistoryTBDJune B,
June 18 – July 2, 2024
Alexis McCrossen
- amccross@smu.edu
HIST 2337US Sports HistoryTBDJuly A,
July 8 – July 22, 2024
Alexis McCrossen
- amccross@smu.edu
HIST 3336Cultural History of the United StatesTBDJuly B,
July 23 – August 6, 2024
Alexis McCrossen
- amccross@smu.edu
ADV 1360Creative ProductionTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Cheryl Mendenhall
- cmendenhall@smu.edu
ADV 1360Creative ProductionTBDJuly A,
July 8 – July 22, 2024
Cheryl Mendenhall
- cmendenhall@smu.edu
ASDR 1300Introduction to DrawingTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Brian Molanphy
- bmolanphy@smu.edu
DS 1300Intro Data ScienceTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Peter Moore
- pmoore@smu.edu
ENGL 3385Literature of the HolocaustTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Mary Catherine Mueller
- MCMueller@smu.edu
ADV 2302Advertising, Society, and EthicsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Sidharth Muralidharan
- sidmurali@smu.edu
APSM 3311Applied Exercise PhysiologyTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Megan Murphy
- mnmurphy@smu.edu
ANTH 3303Self, Culture and Mind: Introduction to Psychological AnthropologyTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Neely Myers
- namyers@smu.edu
MATH 1309Introduction to Calculus for Business and Social ScienceTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Laurel Neustadter
- lneustadter@smu.edu
JOUR 3382Feature WritingTBDJune B,
June 18 – July 2, 2024
Annette Nevins
- anevins@smu.edu
ANTH 3301Health, Healing, and EthicsTBDJune B,
June 18 – July 2, 2024
Parson Nia
- NPARSON@SMU.EDU
ANTH 3306INTRODUCTION TO MEDICAL ANTHROPOLOGYTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Parson Nia
- NPARSON@SMU.EDU
CS 1341Principles of Computer Science ITBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Kasilingam Periyasamy
- kperiyasamy@smu.edu
ANTH 3310Gender, Sex, and Sexuality: Global PerspectivesTBDJuly A,
July 8 – July 22, 2024
Aanmona Priyadarshini
- apriyadarshini@smu.edu
ANTH 3346Culture and Diversity in American LifeTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Aanmona Priyadarshini
- apriyadarshini@smu.edu
EDU 2349Positive PsychologyTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Amy Richardson
- amyrichardson@smu.edu
ME 5329Fluid Power SystemsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Edmond Richer
- richer@lyle.smu.edu
STAT 2331Introduction to Statistical MethodsTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Stephen Robertson
- sdrobert@mail.smu.edu
APSM 3360Nutrition and Population HealthTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Laura Robinson-Doyle
- Laurar@smu.edu
FILM 1304Introduction to ProductionTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Devon Smith
- devons@smu.edu
CHEM 1304General ChemistryTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
David Son
- dson@smu.edu
STAT 3300Applied StatisticsTBDJuly A,
July 8 – July 22, 2024
Charles South
- csouth@smu.edu
PLSC 4350Game Theory for Political ScienceTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Hiroki Takeuchi
- htakeuch@smu.edu
WL 3341FAILURE OF HUMANITY IN RWANDATBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Herve Tchumkam
- HTCHUMKAM@SMU.EDU
ASPT 1300Introduction to paintingTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Philip Van Keuren
- pvankeur@smu.edu
ASPT 1300Introduction to paintingTBDJuly B,
July 23 – August 6, 2024
Philip Van Keuren
- pvankeur@smu.edu
WL 3308Introduction to General LinguisticsTBDJuly B,
July 23 – August 6, 2024
Gabriela Vokic
- vokic@smu.edu
HRTS 3316EthnoviolenceTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Benjamin Voth
- bvoth@smu.edu
APSM 3333Coaching Team SportsTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Bradley Warren
- bwarren@smu.edu
WL 3328French Women WritersTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Antoinette Williams-Tutt
- awilliamstutt@smu.edu
FILM 3300Film/TV Genres (Topic: The Horror Film)TBDJune B,
June 18 – July 2, 2024
Rick Worland
- rworland@smu.edu
FILM 3352American Film HistoryTBDJuly A,
July 8 – July 22, 2024
Rick Worland
- rworland@smu.edu
ADV 2301Consumer BehaviorTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Quan Xie
- quanxie@smu.edu
ADV 2243International AdvertisingTBDJune A,
June 3 – June 17, 2024
Quan Xie
- quanxie@smu.edu
WL 3323Russian CultureTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Tatiana Zimakova
- tzimakov@smu.edu
HIST 3304African Americans in the Civil Rights MovementTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Ken Hamilton
- kmarvin@smu.edu
ADV 2323Word & ImageTBDJune A (June 3 - June 17, 2024),
(June 3 - June 17, 2024)
Nicole Haddad
- nhaddad@smu.edu
ADV 1331Digital Media LandscapesTBDMay Term,
May 9 – May 23, 2024
Nicole Haddad
- nhaddad@smu.edu