Give Now

Summer

Study Abroad

Summer 2019 Programs

Please see the table below for programs offered Summer 2019. Dates are accessible on each program's page. On this page, the programs are organized by program type: May, Summer, Affiliated Programs, and Internships.

Most applications for Summer 2019 will be accepted November 15 through February 1. All applications will be accepted December 1 through February 1.

2019 May Program: 3 credits

SMU-in-Normandy*
History of D-Day & Europe's Liberation
Director: Jeff Engel, jaengel@smu.edu

Contact: Ronna Spitz, rspitz@smu.edu

smu.edu/Normandy

           

2019 Summer Programs: 6-8 credits

SMU-in-Bali
Arts, Culture &Yoga
Director: Anne Westwick, awestwick@smu.edu

smu.edu/Bali

SMU-in-China
Language & Culture
Director: Yan Xia, yxia@smu.edu

smu.edu/China

SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language & Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu

smu.edu/CostaRica

SMU-in-France
Language, Culture & Fashion Media
Director: Paola Buckley, pbuckley@smu.edu

smu.edu/France

SMU-in-Germany
Language, Culture & Engineering
Director: Marlies Gäettens, mgaetten@smu.edu

smu.edu/Germany

SMU-in-Havana-Miami
Culture & Civilization
Director: Lourdes Molina, lmolina@smu.edu

smu.edu/HavanaMiami

SMU-in-India*
Culture & Civilization
Director: Rachel Ball-Phillips, rmball@smu.edu

smu.edu/India

SMU-in-Italy
Arts & Culture
Director: Kathy Windrow, kathyw@smu.edu

smu.edu/Italy

SMU-in-Japan
International Studies
Director: Hiroki Takeuchi, htakeuch@smu.edu

smu.edu/Japan

SMU-in-London
Communications
Director: Rita Kirk, rkirk@smu.edu
Contact: Lisa Goodson, lisag@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonComm

SMU-in-Madrid
Advanced Spanish & Culture
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu

smu.edu/Madrid 

SMU-in-Morocco
Language, History & Religious Studies
Director: Liljana Elverskog, liljana@smu.edu

smu.edu/Morocco

SMU-in-Oxford*
International Studies
Directors: Dan Orlovsky, dorlovsk@smu.edu

smu.edu/Oxford

SMU-in-Prague
Russian Language, Culture & Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu

smu.edu/Prague

SMU-in-Rome-Paris*
History
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu

smu.edu/RomeParis

SMU-in-Rwanda
Leadership & Design in Global Development
Director: Andrew Quicksall, aquicksall@smu.edu

smu.edu/Rwanda

SMU-in-Seville
Language & Internships
Director: Leticia McDoniel, mcdoniel@smu.edu

smu.edu/Seville

SMU-in-South Africa
Arts, Culture, Human Rights & Journalism
Director: Barbara Hill-Moore, bhmoore@smu.edu

smu.edu/SouthAfrica

SMU-in-Tokyo
Creative Visualization
Director: Ira Greenberg, igreenberg@smu.edu

smu.edu/Toyko

SMU-in-Tuscany
Language & Culture
Co-Directors: Aria Cabot, acabot@smu.edu
Daniele Forlino, dforlino@smu.edu

smu.edu/Tuscany

 


*Indicates Honors credit available. 

 

SMU-in-Madrid
Language, Literature, and Culture
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu
smu.edu/Madrid 
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu

SMU-in-Italy
Language, Arts, and Culture
Director: Kathy Windrow, kathyw@smu.edu
smu.edu/Italy 

SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu
SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu

SMU-in-Madrid
Language, Culture, and Science
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu

smu.edu/Madrid 

2019 Summer Affiliated Programs: 6 credits

SMU-in-Siena
Music Performance
Director: Carol Leone, cleone@smu.edu

smu.edu/Siena

SMU STEM Research
Glasgow or Dublin
Director: Fredrick Olness, olness@smu.edu

smu.edu/SMUSTEMResearch

2019 Summer Internships: 6 credits

SMU Internship: Dublin
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/DublinInternship

SMU Internship: London
Business - Cox Students only
Director: Charles Besio,cbesio@smu.edu
Contact: Barbara Mohrle,bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonBusInternship

SMU Internship: London
Communications
Director: Owen Lynch,olynch@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonCommIntern

SMU Internship: Barcelona
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/BarcelonaInternship

SMU Internship: Hong Kong
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/HongKongInternship

SMU Internship: Sydney
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/SydneyInternship