Give Now

Summer

Study Abroad

May & Summer Programs

Please see the table below for programs offered during May and Summer terms. Dates are accessible on each program's page. On this page, the programs are organized by program type: May, Summer, Affiliated Programs, and Internships.

Applications for May and Summer will be accepted November 15 through February 1.

May Program: 3 credits

SMU-in-Normandy*
History of D-Day & Europe's Liberation
Director: Jeff Engel, jaengel@smu.edu

Contact: Ronna Spitz, rspitz@smu.edu

smu.edu/Normandy

May 19 - May 29, 2020

           

Summer Programs: 6-8 credits

SMU-in-Bali
Arts, Culture &Yoga
Director: Jamal Mohamed, jmohmed@smu.edu

Anne Westwick, awestwick@smu.edu

smu.edu/Bali

May 20 - June 15, 2020

SMU-in-China
Language & Culture
Director: Yan Xia, yxia@smu.edu

smu.edu/China

 

May 22 - July 18, 2020

SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language & Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu

smu.edu/CostaRica

 

June 1 - July 12, 2020

SMU-in-France
Language, Culture & Fashion Media
Director: Paola Buckley, pbuckley@smu.edu

smu.edu/France

June 20 - August 1, 2020

SMU-in-Germany
Language & Culture
Director:

 

Program not offered Summer 2020

SMU-in-Havana-Miami
Culture & Civilization
Director: Lourdes Molina, lmolina@smu.edu

smu.edu/HavanaMiami

Program next offered Summer 2021

SMU-in-India*
Culture & Civilization
Director: Rachel Ball-Phillips, rmball@smu.edu

smu.edu/India

Program not offered Summer 2020

SMU-in-Italy
Arts & Culture
Director: Kathy Windrow, kathyw@smu.edu

smu.edu/Italy

May 23 - July 3, 2020

SMU-in-Japan 
International Studies
Director: Hiroki Takeuchi, htakeuch@smu.edu

smu.edu/Japan

June 2 - July 10, 2020

SMU-in-London
Communications
Director: Sandra Duhé, sduhe@smu.edu
Contact: Lisa Goodson, lisag@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonComm

May 23 - June 7, 2020

SMU-in-Madrid
Advanced Spanish & Culture
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu

smu.edu/Madrid 

May 28 - July 1, 2020

SMU-in-Morocco
Language, History & Religious Studies
Director: Liljana Elverskog, liljana@smu.edu

smu.edu/Morocco

Program not offered Summer 2020

SMU-in-Oxford*
International Studies
Director: Dan Orlovsky, dorlovsk@smu.edu
Contact: Leslie DeArman, dearman@smu.edu

smu.edu/Oxford

July 4 - August 8, 2020

SMU-in-Prague 
Russian Language, Culture & Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu

smu.edu/Prague

June 2 - July 3, 2020

SMU-in-Rome-Paris*
History
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu

smu.edu/RomeParis

May 21 - June 14, 2020

SMU-in-Rwanda 
Leadership & Design in Global Development
Director: Andrew Quicksall, aquicksall@smu.edu

smu.edu/Rwanda

July 8 - July 20 / August 14, 2020

SMU-in-South Africa
Arts, Culture, Human Rights & Journalism
Director: Barbara Hill-Moore, bhmoore@smu.edu

smu.edu/SouthAfrica

SMU-in-Tokyo 
Creative Visualization
Director: Ira Greenberg, igreenberg@smu.edu

smu.edu/Toyko

Program next offered Summer 2021

 

 

SMU-in-Tuscany
Language & Culture
Co-Directors: Aria Cabot, acabot@smu.edu
Daniele Forlino, dforlino@smu.edu

smu.edu/Tuscany

June 27 - July 26, 2020

 


*Indicates Honors credit available. 
SMU-in-Madrid
Language, Literature, and Culture
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu
smu.edu/Madrid 
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu

SMU-in-Italy
Language, Arts, and Culture
Director: Kathy Windrow, kathyw@smu.edu
smu.edu/Italy 
 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu
SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu

SMU-in-Madrid
Language, Culture, and Science
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu

smu.edu/Madrid 

Summer Affiliated Programs: 6 credits

SMU-in-Siena 
Music Performance
Liaison: Carol Leone, cleone@smu.edu

smu.edu/Siena

May 18 - June 26, 2020

SMU STEM Research
Glasgow or Dublin
Liaison: Fredrick Olness, olness@smu.edu

smu.edu/SMUSTEMResearch

Dublin: June 1 - July 31, 2020

Glasgow: June 15 - August 1, 2020

SMU-in-London
London School of Economics and Political Science
Liaison: Kathy Hayes, khayes@smu.edu

smu.edu/LSE

June 22 - July 31, 2020

 

Summer Internships: 6 credits

SMU Internship: Barcelona

Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/BarcelonaInternship

May 25 - July 25, 2020

SMU Internship: Dublin
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/DublinInternship

May 25 - July 18, 2020

SMU Internship: London
Business - Cox Students only
Director: Chip Besio,cbesio@smu.edu
Contact: Barbara Mohrle,bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonBusInternship

May 30 - July 25, 2020

 

SMU Internship: London 
Communications
Director: Owen Lynch,olynch@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonCommIntern

June 20 - August 1, 2020

 

SMU Internship: Prague
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle,bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/PragueBusInternship

June 1 - July 25, 2020

 

SMU Internship: Seville
Spanish Language Internships
Contact: Leticia McDoniel, mcdoniel@smu.edu

smu.edu/Seville

May 15 - June 20, 2020

SMU Internship: Sydney
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/SydneyInternship

June 4 - August 2, 2020

SMU Internship: Hong Kong
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/HongKongInternship

Program not offered Summer 2020