Give Now

Summer

Study Abroad

Summer 2019 Programs

Please see the table below for programs offered Summer 2019. Dates are accessible on each program's page. On this page, the programs are organized by program type: May, Summer, Affiliated Programs, and Internships.

Most applications for Summer 2019 will be accepted November 15 through February 1. All applications will be accepted December 1 through February 1. Applications opening December 1 are indicated below. 

2019 May Program: 3 credits

SMU-in-Normandy*
History of D-Day & Europe's Liberation
Director: Jeff Engel, jaengel@smu.edu

Contact: Ronna Spitz, rspitz@smu.edu

smu.edu/Normandy

May 19 - May 28

SMU-in-China
BBA Scholars only
Director: Jim Bryan, jnbyran@smu.edu 

smu.edu/ChinaBBA

Application will open Dec. 15

May 16 - May 31

           

2019 Summer Programs: 6-8 credits

SMU-in-Bali
Arts, Culture &Yoga
Director: Jamal Mohamed, jmohamed@smu.edu

Anne Westwick, awestwick@smu.edu

smu.edu/Bali

May 22 - June 17

SMU-in-China
Language & Culture
Director: Yan Xia, yxia@smu.edu

smu.edu/China

May 26 - July 20

SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language & Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu

smu.edu/CostaRica

May 27 - June 28

SMU-in-France
Language, Culture & Fashion Media
Director: Paola Buckley, pbuckley@smu.edu

smu.edu/France

July 6 - August 10

SMU-in-Germany
Language, Culture & Engineering
Director: Marlies Gäettens, mgaetten@smu.edu

smu.edu/Germany

May 18 - June 22

SMU-in-Havana-Miami
Culture & Civilization
Director: Lourdes Molina, lmolina@smu.edu

smu.edu/HavanaMiami

July 3 - July 27

SMU-in-India*
Culture & Civilization
Director: Rachel Ball-Phillips, rmball@smu.edu

smu.edu/India

This program has been cancelled.

SMU-in-Italy
Arts & Culture
Director: Kathy Windrow, kathyw@smu.edu

smu.edu/Italy

May 25 - July 3

SMU-in-Japan 
International Studies
Director: Hiroki Takeuchi, htakeuch@smu.edu

smu.edu/Japan

Application will open Dec. 1

June 7 - July 15

SMU-in-London
Communications
Director: Rita Kirk, rkirk@smu.edu
Contact: Lisa Goodson, lisag@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonComm

May 25 - June 29

SMU-in-Madrid
Advanced Spanish & Culture
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu

smu.edu/Madrid 

May 22 - June 25

SMU-in-Morocco
Language, History & Religious Studies
Director: Liljana Elverskog, liljana@smu.edu

smu.edu/Morocco

May 26 - June 29

SMU-in-Oxford*
International Studies
Directors: Dan Orlovsky, dorlovsk@smu.edu

smu.edu/Oxford

July 6 - August 10

SMU-in-Prague 
Russian Language, Culture & Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu

smu.edu/Prague

Application will open Dec. 1

June 3 - July 4

SMU-in-Rome-Paris*
History
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu

smu.edu/RomeParis

May 16 - June 9

SMU-in-Rwanda 
Leadership & Design in Global Development
Director: Andrew Quicksall, aquicksall@smu.edu

smu.edu/Rwanda

Application will open Dec. 15

July 8 - August 11

SMU-in-Seville
Language & Internships
Director: Leticia McDoniel, mcdoniel@smu.edu

smu.edu/Seville

May 17 - June 22

SMU-in-South Africa
Arts, Culture, Human Rights & Journalism
Director: Barbara Hill-Moore, bhmoore@smu.edu

smu.edu/SouthAfrica

May 26 - June 29

SMU-in-Tokyo 
Creative Visualization
Director: Ira Greenberg, igreenberg@smu.edu

smu.edu/Toyko

Application will open Dec. 1

May 27 - June 17

SMU-in-Tuscany
Language & Culture
Co-Directors: Aria Cabot, acabot@smu.edu
Daniele Forlino, dforlino@smu.edu

smu.edu/Tuscany

July 2 - August 5

 


*Indicates Honors credit available. 

 

SMU-in-Madrid
Language, Literature, and Culture
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu
smu.edu/Madrid 
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu

SMU-in-Italy
Language, Arts, and Culture
Director: Kathy Windrow, kathyw@smu.edu
smu.edu/Italy 

SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu
SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu

SMU-in-Madrid
Language, Culture, and Science
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu

smu.edu/Madrid 

2019 Summer Affiliated Programs: 6 credits

SMU-in-Siena 
Music Performance
Liaison: Carol Leone, cleone@smu.edu

smu.edu/Siena

Application will open Dec. 1

May 18 - June 28

SMU STEM Research
Glasgow or Dublin
Liaison: Fredrick Olness, olness@smu.edu

smu.edu/SMUSTEMResearch

Dublin: June 3 - August 1

Glasgow: June 17 - August 3

SMU-in-London
London School of Economics and Political Science
Liaison: Kathy Hayes, khayes@smu.edu

smu.edu/LSE

Application will open Dec. 15

June 14 - July 28

2019 Summer Internships: 6 credits

SMU Internship: Dublin
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/DublinInternship

May 27 - July 20

SMU Internship: London
Business - Cox Students only
Director: Charles Besio,cbesio@smu.edu
Contact: Barbara Mohrle,bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonBusInternship

Application is now closed.

June 1 - July 27

SMU Internship: London 
Communications
Director: Owen Lynch,olynch@smu.edu

smu.edu/LondonCommIntern

Application will open Dec. 1

May 25 - July 6

SMU Internship: Barcelona
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/BarcelonaInternship

May 20 - July 20

SMU Internship: Hong Kong
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/HongKongInternship

June 6 - August 3

SMU Internship: Sydney
Business - Cox Students only
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu

smu.edu/SydneyInternship

June 6 - August 3