The Governing Boards of the Clements Center

Clements Center Board members have connections to various areas of the Southwest and U.S.-Mexico borderlands. They gather to share their expertise in business, cultural and non-profit organizations related to the Clements Center’s operations and offerings.

Marissa Anchia 
Jon Bauman
Roy Coffee
John Crain
Christine Mackenroth
Ron Tyler
Frances Vick
Laura Wilson

Ex Officio:

The Clements Center long time chair of the board, Joseph H. Staley, passed away in September 2021.  Joe was an active member of our board since 2005 and served as chair from 2013 to his passing.  He gave both generously of his time and money.  Under Joe’s leadership, the board grew into a diverse group of people whose vocational interests centered on Texas, the Southwest, and the U.S.-Mexico borderlands. In his memory, the Clements Center has renamed on of its graduate student grants the Joseph H. Staley Research Grant. 

The Clements Center SMU Advisory Panel

Clements Center Advisory Board members are SMU faculty with a special knowledge and interest in the Southwest and the borderlands.  They meet to consider and offer suggestions about the Clements Center’s projects and events.

Mike Adler, Anthropology and Director SMU-in-Taos
Steve Denson, Management & Organizations, Cox School of Business, Business
Russell Martin, Director, DeGolyer Library
James E. Quick, Associate Vice President of Research & Dean of Graduate Studies