The Benefactors of the Clements Center

ribbon cutting ceremonyThanks to our generous benefactors, the Clements Center has become an internationally renowned catalyst for research, publishing, and public programming in a variety of disciplines related to the American Southwest and the U.S.-Mexico borderlands.

In May 2005, on the cusp of the Center's tenth anniversary, the Texas House of Representatives issued a lengthy proclamation commending the Clements Center for "its outstanding contributions to preserving the rich story of the American Southwest and the borderlands."

A special thank you to:

Governor and Mrs. William P. Clements 
Louis Beecherl 
The Horizon Foundation
The Philip R. Jonsson Foundation 
The Carl B. and Florence E. King Foundation 
Tex Moncrief 
The Summerfield Roberts Foundation 
The Summerlee Foundation 
Anonymous Donors

Image: Clements Center Ribbon Cutting Ceremony for new offices on November 2, 2009. Left to right:  David J. Weber, founding director; George Bayoud, chair of the Clements Center Board; Governor and Mrs. Bill Clements, founding benefactors; R. Gerald Turner, president of SMU. Photo © SMU, Hillsman Jackson.