Nancy Strauss Halbreich


Presented by

comerica-logo                  hunt-logo 

Gene and Jerry Jones


Cary M. Maguire/
The Maguire Oil Company




2019 Award Recipient

Nancy Strauss Halbreich



The Maguire Ethics Center was delighted to award Nancy Strauss Halbreich, a dedicated and tireless philanthropist in the Dallas community, the 2019 J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award.


Nancy Halbreich is a Dallas native with a special interest in the cultural and educational community. Her philanthropic reach across the community has touched countless individuals and organizations.

Halbreich currently serves as a board member of the Dallas Museum of Art, SMU’s John Tower Center for Political Studies, the SMU Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility, The Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute at UTSW, Charter 100, Southwestern Medical Foundation, and Parkland Foundation. Halbreich is a trustee of the Hamon Foundation and a past trustee of The Hockaday School. She is a member of the AT&T Performing Arts Center emeritus board and a trustee of their Endowment Foundation. She is a member of Crystal Charity Ball, Dallas Woman’s Club, Junior League of Dallas and many other civic and charity groups.

Halbreich has chaired many fundraising events including The Arts Community Alliance’s 20th Anniversary Celebration, Dallas Museum of Art’s Silver Supper, and the Sweetheart Ball funding cardiovascular research at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. She has long drawn attention to the critical role Parkland Hospital plays in the Dallas community, having recently co-chaired the “I Stand for Parkland” Campaign to build the hospital’s new campus, as well as co-chaired the recent campaign to build Parkland’s new Comprehensive Breast Center.

Several organizations have honored Halbreich with their respective awards. In 1998, she received the Community Council of Greater Dallas’ Community Champion Award. Also, she received Dallas Historical Society’s Award of Excellence for Voluntary Community Leadership and was a finalist for “Love for Kids” Award for volunteers. She received the VolunteerNow Lifetime Achievement Award in 2012 and the Volunteer Fundraiser of the Year Award from the NSFRE in 2015.

After a 19-year association with Sotheby’s as a regional associate and international representative, Halbreich was named a senior associate of Fine and Decorative Arts at Heritage Auction Galleries in 2007. Halbreich received her Bachelor of Arts in Art History from the University of Texas at Austin and pursued a Masters in Liberal Arts at Southern Methodist University. She is married to Jeremy L. Halbreich. 



2019 J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award
Host Committee

Caren Prothro, Host Committee Chair
Cary M. Maguire, Advisory Board Chairman

Elaine Agather                 Lottye and Bobby Lyle
Ralph Babb   Nancy Cain Marcus
Jeanne Whitman Bobbit   Sara and David Martineau 
Michael M. Boone   Linda and John McFarland 
David O. Brown   Janie and Cappy McGarr 
Nelda Cain Pickens   Suzanne and Patrick McGee 
Jeanne Tower Cox   Su-Su Meyer 
Linda and Bill Custard   Barbara Schultz and Bruce Mickey 
Nancy M. Dedman   Maryann and Frank Mihalopoulos 
Patsy M. Donosky   Carol and Mack Mitchell 
Laurie and Phil Evans   Nancy Perot and Rod C. Jones
Regen and Jeffrey Fearon   Margot and Ross Perot
Terry J. Flowers   Jeanne L. Phillips
Kelli and Gerald J. Ford   Daniel K. Podolsky
Debbie and Jim Francis   Carol and George Poston
Linda Gibbons   Carolyn and Karl Rathjen
Carol and Don Glendenning   Deedie Rose
Lyda Hill   Lizzie and Dan Routman
Zan W. Holmes, Jr.   Peggy and Carl Sewell
Bea and Walt Humann   Shelle Sills
Nancy Ann and Ray L. Hunt   William T. Solomon
Gene and Jerry Jones   Ronald G. Steinhart
Mary Noel and Bill Lamont   Gail Griffin Thomas
Alex and Robert Lavie   Betsy and John Waggoner
Carole and John Lee   Lisa and John Warner
Liza and Will Lee   Kern Wildenthal
Jack Lowe, Jr.    
Tom Luce    



Luncheon Details

Thursday, March 28, 2019 12:00 - 1:30 PM Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom
  SMU Umphrey Lee Center (map)
3300 Dyer Street
Dallas TX 75205