Give Now

J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award


The J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award

The J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award is named in honor of the public-spirited former mayor of Dallas.  It is given to individuals who epitomize the spirit of moral leadership and public virtue.  The founders of our nation foresaw that the ideal of liberty alone would not sustain our country unless accompanied by the concept of "public virtue," a sacrifice of self and resources for the public good.  The Maguire Center is proud to present this award to people whose careers should be recognized, honored, and modeled.

2018 Recipient Bobby B. Lyle

BobbyBLyleThe Maguire Center is proud to announce the 2018 recipient of the J. Erik Jonsson Ethics Award will be Dr. Bobby B. Lyle.

Innovative engineer, educator, corporate executive, entrepreneur, civic leader and philanthropist all accurately describe Dr. Bobby Lyle, whose multifaceted career has spanned six decades. Throughout his career, Lyle’s passion for his alma mater has remained constant. As a member of the SMU board of trustees for more than 26 years, he has served as chair or vice chair of numerous university standing committees and boards, including the Audit Committee, the Cox Associate Board, the Maguire Energy Institute and the Cary M. Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility.

Dr. Lyle’s commitment to education is matched by his unwavering dedication to community service. He is vice chair of the Salvation Army National Advisory Board and a member of its DFW Metroplex Command Advisory Board. He is past president of Circle Ten Council-Boy Scouts of America and currently a trustee of the Council’s Foundation and chair of its $90 million Centennial Campaign. 

For more information on Dr. Lyle, the award and upcoming luncheon, please click here.


Past Award Recipients

David Brown (2017)
Terry Flowers (2016)
Lyda Hill (2015)
Gail G. Thomas  (2014)
Nancy Ann and Ray L. Hunt (2013)
Walter J. Humann (2012)
Ruth Altshuler (2011)
Bob Buford (2010)
Ronald G. Steinhart (2009)
Michael M. Boone (2008)
Zan W. Holmes Jr., M.Th (2007)
Roger Staubach (2006)
Caren Prothro (2005)
Tom Luce (2004)
Ron Anderson, M.D. (2003)
Jack Lowe, Jr. (2002)
William T. Solomon (2000)
Stanley H. Marcus (1999)
Charles C. Sprague, M.D. (1998)
Curtis W. Meadows, Jr. (1997)

J. Erik Jonsson

JonssonJ. Erik Jonsson, a founder of Texas Instruments, was a selfless civic worker, former Dallas mayor, and committed philanthropist.  He exemplified the highest ethical standards in his many business and civic endeavors. As a visionary, he sought to repay the debt that all businesses owe their community through selfless work as a civic leader and through his philanthropy in education.

Mr. Jonsson transformed Texas Instruments from a company offering geophysical services to one that pioneered the high-tech world of electronics and semiconductors. His accomplishments were recognized in 1975 when he was one of only four living Americans to be selected for the newly created National Business Hall of Fame, joining such historical luminaries as Henry Ford, J. Pierpont Morgan, Alfred P. Sloan, and Andrew Carnegie.

Mr. Jonsson insisted on the highest ethical standards for Texas Instruments. The company set an early example in formalizing a code of ethics for its executives and employees.

His own leadership in Dallas’s civic affairs culminated when he was selected to be mayor in the dark period following the assassination of President John F. Kennedy. Under his guidance from 1964-1971, the city built a new city hall, a new municipal library, and the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport. He founded and largely financed the Goals for Dallas program that, for the first time in the city’s history, involved people of all races in establishing long-range municipal goals.

A mechanical engineer educated at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Mr. Jonsson was born in Brooklyn of Swedish immigrant parents, spent his early life in New Jersey, and moved to Dallas in 1934 to join the company that was a predecessor to Texas Instruments.