Deadline for Merit Scholarships is February 1, 2016

DALLAS (SMU) – Prospective students who complete admissions applications to Perkins School of Theology by Monday, Feb. 1, 2016, also will be considered for merit scholarships. No additional application is needed for these scholarships, but eligible applicants must also have attained a cumulative 3.2 grade-point average or higher in previous college coursework.

Merit scholarships offered by Perkins include:
• Charles and Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Fellowships
• Prothro Promise for Ministry Scholarships
• Dean’s Honor Scholarships for Dallas Program Students
• Dean's Honor Scholarships for Extension Program Students

Additionally, the $50 application fee will be waived for all those who submit completed applications by Tuesday, March 1, 2016. This is also the deadline for all need-based grants.

Each year, nearly 75 percent of Perkins students will receive some form of financial assistance from Perkins School of Theology. Fellowship and scholarships at Perkins will be awarded to new students entering in the fall or spring term.

For additional information and for an online application, visit the Admissions section of the Perkins website. If you have any questions, contact Herbert Coleman, director of Recruitment and Admissions at Perkins School of Theology, at or 214-768-2139.


Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music (June 2016) as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU’s Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.