People

Portrait of Professor Kenneth Andrien

Kenneth Andrien

Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Chair in History

kandrien@smu.edu

Ates

Sabri Ates

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies

sates@smu.edu

ball philips

Rachel Ball-Phillips

Adjunct Lecturer

Portrait of Katherine C. Engel

Kate Carté

Associate Professor

kecarte@smu.edu

chavez

John R. Chávez

Professor
Director of Graduate Studies

jchavez@smu.edu

Edward F. Countryman

University Distinguished Professor

ecountry@smu.edu

Crista J. DeLuzio

Associate Professor and Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor

cdeluzio@smu.edu

Melissa Barden Dowling

Associate Professor, Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor and Director of Classical Studies

mdowling@smu.edu

David Doyle

Director, University Honors Program
Director, Dedman College Scholars Program
Adjunct Assistant Professor of History

ddoyle@smu.edu

Johan Elverskog

Courtesy Professor and Professor and Chair of Religious Studies

johan@smu.edu

Jeffrey A. Engel

Professor
Director of the Center for Presidential History

jaengel@smu.edu

Neil Foley

The Robert H. and Nancy Dedman Chair in History
Associate-Director, Clements Center for Southwest Studies

foleyn@smu.edu

Brian Franklin

Adjunct Lecturer
Associate Director of the SMU Center for Presidential History

brfranklin@smu.edu

Andrew R. Graybill

Professor
Director, Clements Center for Southwest Studies

agraybill@smu.edu

Jo Guldi

Associate Professor

jguldi@mail.smu.edu

Rick Halperin

Adjunct Lecturer
Professor of the Practice of Human Rights
Director, Human Rights Education Program

rhalperi@smu.edu

hamilton

Kenneth M. Hamilton

Professor and Director of Ethnic Studies

kmarvin@smu.edu

Erin R. Hochman

Associate Professor

ehochman@smu.edu

Jill E. Kelly

Associate Professor

jillk@smu.edu

Thomas J. Knock

Department Chair
Professor of History and Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor

tknock@smu.edu

Bianca Lopez

W.R. Nicholson Endowed Assistant Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies

biancal@smu.edu

Brandon G. Miller

Assistant Director, University Honors Program
Assistant Director, Dedman College Scholars Program
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Clements Department of History

bgmiller@smu.edu

Daniel T. Orlovsky

Professor and George Bouhe Research Fellow in Russian Studies

dorlovsk@smu.edu

Ariel Ron

Glenn M. Linden Assistant Professor of the U.S. Civil War Era

aron@mail.smu.edu

Kathleen A. Wellman

Dedman Family Distinguished Professor and Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor

kwellman@smu.edu

Ling A. Shiao

Research Professor
China
Modern East Asia

lshiao@smu.edu

logo

Peter Bakewell

Edmund J. and Louise W. Kahn Chair in History Emeritus
Colonial Mexico
Latin America

pjbakewell43@gmail.com

James K. Hopkins

James K. Hopkins

Altshuler Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus
Modern Britain
European Social and Intellectual

hopkins@smu.edu

John A. Mears

Professor Emeritus
Early Modern Europe
Global and Comparative

jmears@smu.edu

logo

Donald L. Niewyk

Professor Emeritus
Modern Europe
Germany

dniewyk@mail.smu.edu

Robert W. Righter

Research Professor Emeritus
American West
Environmental History

robert.righter@sbcglobal.net

Sherry L. Smith

University Distinguished Professor Emerita
American West
Native American

sherrys@smu.edu